Where and how you search for information on your topic will depend on what your topic is! Basic starting places for most topics are on this page, but be sure to check out the tab above that most closely matches the area you're studying.
Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union from journals, books, dissertations, and more. Subjects include: anthropology, culture and the arts, economics, education, and geography. Covers 1939 - current.
This is one of the most comprehensive databases for literary studies. One great trick is to put the name of a poem, story, book, or author's name into one search box and then select "Subject Heading (All)" from the drop-down box that normally says "All fields." All the resulting articles will then be about that poem, story, book, or author.
A Web site linking to current news briefs and reviews of national and regional news sources. It also includes the National Electronic Library, an electronic archive of Russian media. Available only in Russian.
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, put the title of the reference work into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection.
Find dissertations and some masters theses from universities in 88 countries. Most documents published since 1997 also include the full text. Covers 1861 - current.
NOTE: For international dissertations and theses not available through this tool, check CRL, and if they have the document you can order it through Interlibrary Loan.