Social Sciences: Data Archives and Data Catalogs
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address.
- Roper Center Survey Dataset Collection
- This link opens in a new window
The Roper Center data archive at the University of Connecticut includes datasets for secondary analysis from over 10,000 studies of public opinion. Includes surveys by Gallup, NORC, ABC News and Washington Post and more. Browse by topic to get an idea of the collections - Data and Program Library Service
This link opens in a new window
This data library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison has a searchable catalog of data as well as a browsable archive of locally collected data.
- UK Data Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A premier data collection of datasets from the United Kingdom and beyond. Carleton does not have access to much of this data, but it is a great place to search for international data sources. Consult with a librarian about access.
- Data on the Net
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of links to data libraries and archives that can be searched on the web. - Odum Institute for Research in Social Science
- This link opens in a new window
Extensive collections of Census data, public opinion data, health statistics, and other topics. Carleton users have access only to publicly available data.
Sciences: Data Archives and Data Catalogs
- Dryad Digital Repository
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 10,000 publicly available scientific datasets. - re3data.org
- This link opens in a new window
A global registry of research data repositories that one can browse or search and filter. In 2015 it was combined with DataBib. - Data Repositories Wiki
- This link opens in a new window
A list of open data repositories for many different disciplines - primarily STEM, but others too. - National Science Foundation Data
- This link opens in a new window
The NSF provides data for use in STEM fields.
Informally Shared Data Repositories
Also referred to as generalist repositories, these repositories accept data from all kinds of dataset authors, or in all kinds of formats, or on any topic. They are generally not curated, so quality can vary widely. However, because they have few barriers to deposit, data can be shared here quickly.
- Dataverse
- This link opens in a new window
An open repository hosted at Harvard in which authors can deposit their replication datasets. Includes datasets from important journals and research projects, such as American Journal of Political Science and survey organizations like Gallup. - Dryad Digital Repository
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 10,000 publicly available scientific datasets. - FigShare
- This link opens in a new window
A place where anyone can post research data and publications. There is no editorial or curatorial process to ensure quality, so evaluate what you find carefully. - GitHub
- This link opens in a new window
Although GitHub is primarily used for version control, there is public data stored there. - IEEEDataPort
- This link opens in a new window
Freely available research datasets shared with the global technical community. Code often accompanies datasets. - Kaggle
- This link opens in a new window
Kaggle is a website for users to upload datasets, and write scripts (called kernels) to analyze the data. Kaggle also has competitions to create kernels to do specific tasks some even have monetary prizes. - Kaggle Tutorial
- This link opens in a new window
Learn how to find a dataset using specific search terms, read and understand what’s in your dataset, and check the validity of your dataset. - OSF (Open Science Framework)
- This link opens in a new window
A free platform for sharing research results, where datasets are often shared as components of projects. - Tableau
- This link opens in a new window
One of the more robust options for uploading, visualizing & exploring, downloading and publishing your data. Charts and graphs built on your data will stay live, so if you update the data, the visualizations update accordingly. - ZenodoAn open data repository, which contains all forms of research output including datasets. Originally formed in the EU for open science, but open to users worldwide.
- Science Data Bank
- This link opens in a new window
A public, general-purpose data repository dedicated to open science, operated by the Chinese Academy of Sciences.
