The following resources provide data and statistics useful for the study of health care and policy in the United States and internationally.
Adolescent Health and Academic Achievement Study
Nationally representative, school-based longitudinal study exploring health-related behaviors in adolescents.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHCRP provides evidence-based information on health care outcomes; quality; and cost, use, and access. Categories include associations, databases, government, journals and publications.
America's Health Rankings
Provides state-by-state health rankings
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
World's largest on-going telephone health survey, since 1984; data are collected in all 50 states plus Guam, Puerto Rico, D.C., and the U.S. Virgin Islands
A single point of access to U.S. public health data across a diverse array of topics from chronic to communicable diseases.
Center for Studying Health System Change
Nonpartisan policy center conducts both nationally representative household surveys and nationally representative physician surveys from the late 1990s and early 2000s relating to care access, quality, and coverage.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
Formerly the Health Care Financing Administration, the CMMS measures spending for health care in the U.S. by type of service deliveres (hospital care, physician services, nursing home care, etc.) and source of funding for those services (private health insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, out-of-pocket, etc.). Expenditure estimates for 1960-1998 are currently available in data files or in published articles listed.
Child Trends Data Bank
100 key indicators on child well-being trends
Community Health Status Indicators
Key health indicators at the county level
Presents the most recent monitoring data from the CDC for Healthy People 2010.
Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health
Link to data sources relevant to child and adolescent health.
"Quality of life" data broken out by race/ethnicity for top metropolitan areas
Research federal legislation and budgets for food and drug oversight and programs.
Health and Retirement Study
Longitudinal study surveys 22,000 Americans 50+ every 2 years.
HCUPnet - Health Cost and Utilization Project
"A tool for identifying, tracking, analyzing, and comparing statistics on hospitals at the national, regiona, and state level." Use this web site to search for and compare data on hospital stays, morbidity, hospital procedure, charges, and other data collected at the state level and reported to the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), which developed and maintains this site.
This site contains a world-wide list of resources on health economics, pharmacoeconomics, outcomes research, managed care, value in medicine, health-related quality of life, performance assessment, and quality of care.
Health Insurance Data from the U.S. Census and BLS
The Census collects data on health insurance coverage and related indicators. The Current Population Survey (CPS) has asked about health insurance coverage since 1980. The Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP) asks questions about health status and use of health care services.
HRS and Ahead-U. of Michigan
The Health and Retirement Study (HRS) and Asset and Health Dynamics Among the Oldest Old (AHEAD) are nationally representative longitudinal data collections that examine retirement and the aging of society.
State-and city-level data for over 100 measures of well being from the Annie E. Casey Foundation.
Longitudinal Study of Aging
Multicohort longitudinal study of persons 70+ measuring health, functional status, living arrangements, and health care utilization.
The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey collects information on health status and use from a nationally representative sample of Medicare users.
Medical Expenditure Panel Survey, MEPS
Large-scale surveys of families and individuals, providers, and employers on the cost and use of health care conducted by the U.S. HHS Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
A division of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) the NCHS is the principle health statistics agency of the U.S. Government. This agency's web site offers access to macro- and microdata, including such surveys and collection systems as the National Health Care Survey, National Health Interview Survey, National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey, National Immunization Survey, and the National Vital Statistics System. The FastStats portion of the site is a quick topical guide to quick facts, source statistics and related information.
National Medical Expenditure Survey & Medical Expenditure Panel Survey
Annually surveys a nationally representative number of households and individuals, and their providers, on health status, use of services, satisfaction, and more. Also surveys employers on health plans offered.
National Women's Health Information Center
Extensive collection of indicators on women's health, provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Includes the Quick Health Data Online database (QUDO), the Women's Health Chartbook, and Health Disparities Profiles for each state.
NCSL's Health Policy
National Conference of State Legislatures allows the public to access selected documents produced by state governments.
Look to the website of the federal government's National Institutes of Health for data on clinical trials and government funding of medical research.
Office of Women's Health, Quick Health Data Online
Data particularly relevant to women's health down to the county and state level; create your own custom tables, charts, and graphs.
State and local maternal and infant health data from the March of Dimes
The website for the pharmaceutical industry association contains data (from the industry) about trends in R&D budgets and marketing.
Profiles of America
Analyze individual counties by manipulating socioeconomic and health data used by the U.S. Economic Research Service.
SEER Cancer Surveilllance, Epidemiology, and End Results
Statistics on the incidence, prevalence, and survival of cancer for 26% of U.S. plus mortality for entire U.S. from 1975-2005
SMART: BRFSS City and County Data
Data from the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System at the city and county level.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Statistics
Online analysis and datasets available on alcohol, drug, and tobacco use and mental health
A GIS application from the National Library of Medicine that enables users to map data from the U.S. EPA's Toxics Release Inventory and Superfund Program.
Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
Survey data on health issues in 75+ developing countries, collected by the US Agency for International Development (USAID)
European Health for All Database
Data for WHO European member countries with time series to 1970.
Global Health Facts
Data on HIV/AIDS, TB, Malaria and other world health statistics from Kaiser.
HIV/AIDS Surveillance Database
Data on HIV/AIDS prevalence internationally.
The World Bank's comparative, time-series health, nutrition, and population indicators.
Human Mortality Database
Mortality and population data largely from OECD countries.
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO):
Pan American Health Organization statistics
UN Statistics Division: Health
The Demographic Yearbook collects births, death, and life expectancy; link here to WHO and UNAIDs data.
World Development Indicators (WDI)
World Development Indicators features specific indicators relevant to health and welfare.
World Health Organization (WHO) Statistics
The World Health Organization provides statistics on 70 core indicators for the 193 WHO member states, as well as extensive data on other international health concerns
WHO Global Health Atlas
Access WHO data via a data query tool.
WHO Mortality Data
Mortality and causes of disease statistics and (large) data files.
Health Data Tools and Statistics
An annotated resource list of health data and statistics from Partners in Information Access for a Public Health Workforce
Health Services Research Web Sites
Annoted list of links, arranged by topic and alphabetically, to web sites providing information on health services research from the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Includes links to state and national data sets and data sources, associations, and more.
HHS Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources
Lengthy list of data resources from the Department of Health and Human Services
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA)
Datasets relevant to substance abuse and mental health available from ICPSR, a social sciences data archive at the University of Michigan.
UMichigan's Statistical Resources on the Web: Health
Collection of statistical links on the web related specifically to health.