Librarian
Where to Start
Take cues from the literature you already have for possible data sources. Early on, search the following resources, which will either lead you directly to data or will give you vital information about who collects the type of data you need.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search across 1000s of statistical publications from 100s of sources. This comprehensive database includes the three major statistical indexes (American Statistics Index, Statistical Reference Index, and Index to International Statistics). - Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This compendia of statistics contains basic tables summarizing the vast amount of data collected by the U.S. government. Find a table here that is related to your topic and follow the cited source to identify which agency collects the data you need. - Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal integrating data and facts from multiple sources onto a single platform, categorized into over 20 market sectors. Stronger on market statistics than the others listed here.
- Gould Library Data GuideGeneral strategies for data searching, management, data across many disciplines.
Data Archives and Data Catalogs
- ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A repository of social science datasets for secondary research. Members of the Carleton community may search the catalog, read data documentation and download datasets after creating a personal "MyData" account with their Carleton email address. - UK Data Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A premier data collection of datasets from the United Kingdom and beyond. Carleton does not have access to much of this data, but it is a great place to search for international data sources. Consult with a librarian about access. - Dataverse This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Search across the data collections of over 200 institutions, researchers, research centers and collections. Click the 'i' for more information and watch the format listed to determine whether the data are "raw" or not.
- Data and Program Library Service
- This link opens in a new window
This data library at the University of Wisconsin-Madison has a searchable catalog of data as well as a browsable archive of locally collected data.
See also
Sites with Research Articles and Data
Search these portals to search across many sites at once. Items are usually selected for inclusion based on their relevance and quality.
- Data on the Net
- This link opens in a new window
From the University of California, San Diego's searchable listing of 850 Internet sites of numeric Social Science statistical data, data catalogs, data libraries, social science gateways, addresses and more. - Economic Data Sources from the Data and Program Library ServiceAn annotated list of links to data-related web sites. Go to the main Internet Crossroads page and search all 720 annotated links.
- Economic Growth ResourcesList of growth data sets available online.
- RFE - Resources for EconomistsA great place to begin; comprehensive.
Government Agencies and Nonprofit Organizations
- Bureau of Economic Analysis
- This link opens in a new window
The BEA, a part of the Department of Commerce, provides GDP and economic accounts data. It contains national, state and regional, and international economic data. - BLS: Bureau of Labor Statistics
- This link opens in a new window
The U.S. Department of Labor provides a large amount of data on their web site. - Census Bureau Web Site
- This link opens in a new window
A portal to statistics and data collected by the Census Bureau.
- data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census. Replaces American FactFinder.
- Economic CensusThis census includes Service Industries who report on kind of business, Federal income tax status, geographic location, taxable operating receipts (revenue for tax-exempt establishments), annual and first quarter payroll, and employment for the pay period including March 12. Establishments receiving a census form provide additional data on operational and organizational status, sources of receipts, business characteristics, and industry specific measures such as exports and the number of hotel a
- FCSM: Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (Formerly Fedstats) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy access to the full range of statistics and information produced by 70 government agencies for public use. Includes access to some regional statistics. - ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information, including publications, legislative histories, hearings, bills, and much more. Most coverage runs from 1970 to date.
- RAND
- This link opens in a new window
RAND is a nonprofit institution that analyzes and researches public policy. - NBERNBER is a privite nonprofit research organization focusing on economic research. Their goal is to support and disseminate research to decision makers of all kinds, whether public, private or academic. This page on the NBER site lists selected sources for data on the web. These data come from individual researchers as well as government agencies.
International Data
World Bank
World Development Indicators
Statistical data for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2002 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators.
For data documentation, see reference book: World Development Indicators, Ref HC 59.15 .W656.World Bank - Data
Their data and maps section of their web page.Data by Country
A listing of country-level data collected by the World Bank.United Nations
Statistical Yearbook
CC Reference HA12.5 .U63 2001
Like the Statistical Abstract of the United States, this book is a great way to find out what kind of data are collected by the UN and where to find them.UNData
Combines 15 databases and 55 million records from different UN agencies and branches. Topics include agriculture, employment, education, health, human development, industry, and more. Replaces the now defunct UN Common Database.UN Statistics Division -- Unrestricted Access Databases
Find listed and described on this page all unrestricted access databases from the UN, including:
- Demographic Yearbook
- InfoNation
- Millennium Indicators Database
- National Accounts Main Aggregates Database
- Population statistics
- Social Indicators
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
OECD Factbook 2008
This compendium of statistics collected by the OECD is free on the web. A good way to learn what types of data are collected by this organization and where to find them.OECD in Figures
Full-text via ProQuest and Business Source Premier. Use the Electronic Journals List to access. Similar to the Factbook.SourceOECD
Though Carleton does not subscribe to most material on this large site, searching here is the best way to find full citation information for publications from the OECD. Interlibrary Loan is an option for many titles. Talk to a librarian for assistance.European Union
European Union Encyclopedia and Directory 2005
CC Reference HC241.2 .E8334
This reference book contains basic country statistics tables, and can help one identify which agencies collect which data, and how those data will be organized on eurostat.eurostat
Detailed and comparable statistical data at EU level. See also the official web site of the European Union.International Monetary Fund
International Financial Statistics. Yearbook
CC Ref HG 3881 .I627
Library has 1979 to the present. Back issues are shelved in general stacks, second floor.International Financial Statistics. Monthly
CC Ref HG 3881 .I626
Library has 1948 to the present. Back issues are shelved in general stacks, second floor.International Financial Statistics Online
Time series data back to 1948. Best used in concert with at least one paper issue for documentation and to understand the numbering system. See Kristin for help using this database.Balance of Payment Statistics Yearbook
CC Ref HF 1014 .I6
Library has from 1981 to the present. Back issues are shelved in general stacks, second floor.Government Finance Statistics Yearbook
CC Ref HJ 101 .G68
CC Ref HJ 101 .G682 CD-Rom (March 2006)
Library has from 1980 to the present. Back issues are shelved in general stacks, second floor. The CD-Rom provides time series data from the yearbooks.Direction of Trade Statistics. Yearbook
CC Reference HF91 .D574
Library has from 1974 to the present. Back issues are shelved in general stacks, second floor.Directon of Trade Statistics. Quarterly
CC Reference HF91 .D57
Library has from 1994 to the present. Back issues are shelved in general stacks, second floor.United States Census
International Data Base - Census Bureau
Data band for 227 countries plus some useful links.Government Statistical Agencies
Governments on the WWW
Quick links to national, regional, and international government web pages. Close competitors include:
Guides to International Data
International Agencies and Information on the Web
Intergovernmental agencies, foreign governments, statistics, U.S. policy, and more.Penn World Tables
"...a set of national accounts economic time series covering many countries...."Western European Studies Section
Links to all aspects of this region that were selected by librarian specialists; includes historical sources.
