Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Primary sources
- Archive-It: #BlackLivesMatterIn August of 2014, the Archive-It team put out a call for URLs related to the August 9th shooting of Michael Brown in Ferguson, MO.
- Internet Archive: "Black lives matter"The Internet Archive contains digitized material from individuals, groups, and institutions. Try searching by phrases like "Black Lives Matter" or by specific names.
- DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowContains digital content collected from major libraries and universities around the country. Try searching by specific names, for instance: "Trayvon Martin".
- "Historic Documents" series (CQ Press)Summaries and primary sources related to key political events from around the globe from the year the volume was published. Updated yearly since 1972. For example, "Florida Governor Responds to Trayvon Martin Shooting: March 22, 2012."
James Baldwin
- James Baldwin's writings online - CatalystAdvanced search: Author/creator (is exact) Baldwin, James, 1924-1987 & ONLINE.
- LION database: Author page for James BaldwinIncludes a biography, and links to criticism of Baldwin, plus articles about him in other reference works, including the The Cambridge Companion to James Baldwin.
- NYPL James Baldwin collectionSome items have been digitized. Click the button on the left with a trident-shaped icon that says "Portions of this collection are digitized." Then click on the box/folder number (ie. "b. 30 f. 1") to see scans.
Current US Newspapers
To find an individual newspaper, check the library's complete Journals List. To search in multiple papers, use the online resources below.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - PressReader This link opens in a new windowAccess to the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they are available. Searchable by country, title, or date. Includes translation feature.
- Newspapers.com This link opens in a new windowNewspapers dating from the early 1700s into the 2000s. Contains full runs and portions of runs of well-known, regional, and state titles as well as small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFull text of articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of major business publications as well as other newspapers and magazines. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowMore than 300 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, including many Spanish-language Latino publications.
- Proquest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new windowRecent newspaper collections from 2008 to recent (3 month embargo) for NY Times, Star Tribune, Wall Street Journal
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new windowFrom historic pressings to contemporary periodicals, explore nearly 200 years of Indigenous print journalism from the US and Canada. With newspapers representing a huge variety in publisher, audience and era, discover how events were reported by and for Indigenous communities.
- Current Minnesota Newspapers (NewsBank)Close to 150 local Minnesota news sources, including Duluth News Tribune (1995-Current), St. Paul Pioneer Press (1988-Current), and Minneapolis Star Tribune (1986-Current). Includes print and broadcast.
