Newspapers
- America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Contains the full text and images from historical American newspapers, 1690 - 1922. Also includes sub-collections of African American Newspapers, Ethnic American Newspapers, and Hispanic Newspapers. Languages covered include English, Spanish, Yiddish, French, German, and Japanese. - Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across fully digitized newspapers, including all articles, advertisements, and illustrations. Contains "The North Star" (Frederick Douglass' newspaper)
- Freedmen's Record (1865-1874)Freedmen's Record is a historical journal published in United States by the New England Freedmen's Aid Society. This collection contains issues published between 1865 and 1874.
- The Colored American Magazine byPublication Date: 1900-1909
Digital Collections
- Slavery, Abolition, and Social Justice This link opens in a new windowPrimary source documents dating from 1490 to the near present from across the Atlantic world relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition, and social justice.
- African American Women (Duke)Online Archival Collections, Duke University. More physical archives available at Duke University Library.
- American Slavery Documents (Duke)Over 200 legal and personal documents related to the institution of slavery in the United States from 1757-1860s.
- Digital SchomburgOnline exhibitions, maps, and books from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
- Images of Nineteenth Century African-Americans (Schomburg)Browse and search images from the Photographs and Prints Division of the Schomburg Center.
- The Geography of Slavery in Virginia (UVA)Project from the University of Virginia to archive advertisements for runaway and captured slaves and servants in 18th- and 19th-century Virginia newspapers.
- Valley of the Shadow (UVA)Digital history project from UVA. Letters, newspapers, and documents from two communities, one in Virginia, and one in Pennsylvania.
- Plat Books of MissouriAll Missouri counties, published in the late 20s and 30s.
Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project
Slave narratives have a prominent role in the historiography of slavery in the United States. Check out this essay on the Federal Writers' Project narratives: Introduction to the WPA Slave Narratives.
The actual narratives themselves are available in multiple forms and formats. Below are several options for accessing them:
- Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938Contains digitized versions of images and narratives collected as part of the Federal Writers' Project.
The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography by Call Number: E441 .A58Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Divided into two series, and two subseries. Use the Index to the American Slave to search the whole set.- Slave narratives: a folk history of slavery in the United States from interviews with former slaves. byCall Number: Microfiche E444 .F27Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Original 1940s publication of the typescripts from the Federal Writers' Project.
Other resources
- Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South (Duke)Over 400 interviews, sorted by state, gender, occupation, etc. Includes audio recording and transcripts.
