Still looking for more?
There are many more sources listed on the main research guide for Linguistics.
Librarian
Finding sources about a language or construction
- Oxford Handbooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
High quality treatments of major topics, written by major scholars in the field and pointing toward key literature.
- Glottolog
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive catalogue of the world's languages, language families and dialects, including references to source material (grammars and more) for linguists.
EthnologueCall Number: REF P371 .E83Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Key source for finding how languages are related to other languages. Catalogs all known living languages. Online version includes links to language resources including primary data.
World Atlas of Language StructuresCall Number: Ref P143 .W67 2005Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The Online version is easily browsable and searchable, and sources it's information thoroughly, leading you to important descriptions of specific languages and structures.
- Finding Scholarly Grammars in Catalyst: Try changing the Language listed in this search to find linguistic descriptions of your chosen languageFinding good reference grammars and other sources that describe the linguistic structures of a particular language can be challenging. Carleton or St. Olaf not have what you need? Check WorldCat for interlibrary loan options.
Finding Dissertations
While not considered formally published, dissertations can provide a lot of really useful information. They are especially useful as pointing tools, since their literature reviews and bibliographies are usually very rich sources of information.
I also list them separately here because the FindIt button doesn't work well to link you to the full text of dissertations, so if you come across one in a research database it's best to bring the citation information directly to one of these specialized collections of dissertations in order to find the full text.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Find dissertations and some masters theses from universities in 88 countries. Most documents published since 1997 also include the full text. Covers 1861 - current.
- EThOS: online doctoral theses from the British LibraryEThOS is working toward a goal of having records for all doctoral theses from the UK dating back to 1800, and full text for as many of these as can be managed.
- CRL: Center For Research Libraries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
This collection includes microfilm for foreign newspapers and foreign dissertations. You may borrow microfilm reels and other materials through Interlibrary Loan.
