LibKey Nomad
Newspapers
- MideastWire.com This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An archive of concise, translated briefs covering key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing in the media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora. Covers 2005 - current. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they are available. Searchable by country, title, or date. Includes translation feature.
- Global Press Archive -- Middle East and North African NewspapersHistorical Newspapers. Key topics include the decline of colonialism, the collapse of the Ottoman Empire, the Suez Crisis, the Cold War, the rise of the petroleum industry, twentieth-century pan-Arab movements, both World Wars, and the establishment of the state of Israel.
- FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from around the globe, 1941 - 1996. - JPRS: Joint Publications Research Service Reports This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes translated books, reports, serials, journal and newspaper articles, radio and television broadcasts from nations around the globe with an emphasis on communist and third-world countries. Covers 1957 - 1994. - AP Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Search through the photographs, illustrations, and other images taken or created by the Associated Press since 1826. Search by simple keyword or by complex searches such as concept, color, and category. 1826 - current.
Magazines
In addition to newspapers, you can turn to magazines for timely analysis of current affairs, often more in-depth than newspapers offer. Below are catalog links for three major publications -- these can be accessed online (plain text only) or in print on our shelves. In addition, you will find a link to the list of magazines in the ProQuest Politics Collection.
- Foreign AffairsA "leading forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs." Available in print (3rd floor Periodicals) and online.
- Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full content of the website for Foreign Policy magazine. When off-campus, use the campus VPN for best access.
- The EconomistAvailable online and in the 4th Floor Periodicals ("The Rookery").
- ProQuest Politics Collection's list of magazinesFull list of full-text magazines dealing with politics and international relations from ProQuest's Politics Collection. Click on a publication title to browse or search within issues.
New York Times
News from 1851 to today
You can view and search through all news articles from the New York Times from its founding in 1851 to the present using ProQuest Historical Newspapers, ProQuest Newsstream, and Carleton's subscription to NYTimes.com. Access to content varies and overlaps between each option.
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best for 1980 to right now, plus anything interactive or visual. Requires registration. Access provided through partnership with the Carleton Student Association.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Best for searching what was printed in the paper five years ago to the present. Text only. Use Guided Search: "A Publication" + [your search terms] + "The New York Times"
- New York Times, late east coast edition via ProQuest Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Best for browsing what was printed in the paper five years ago to the present. Text only. - New York Times, late east coast/city edition via ProQuest Historical Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Best for what was printed in the paper from 1851 to five years ago. - New York Times, international print edition via ProQuest Newsstream
- This link opens in a new window
Aug 1, 1992 to present, with some exceptions.
Other Access Options
New York Times, late city edition, microfilm (3rd floor, microfilm newspapers, cabinets 2-9)
1857 - 2020
New York Times, national edition, paper (Rookery newspapers)
last 30 days
Supplements
New York Times Book Review
This supplement began in 1896
• paper (last 30 days): in Rookery newspapers
• online (Jan 3, 1988 - present): in ProQuest Newsstream
• microfilm (1896 - 2020): 3rd floor, microfilm newspapers, cabinets 2-9
New York Times Magazine
This supplement began in 1896
• paper (last 30 days): in Rookery newspapers
• online (Jan 5, 1997 - present): in ProQuest Newsstream
• microfilm (1896 - 2020): 3rd floor, microfilm newspapers, cabinets 2-9
