LibKey Nomad
Business & Company Information
- Dirt Diggers Digest Guide to Strategic Corporate ResearchBy Philip Mattera, Director of the Corporate Research Project and Publisher of Dirt Diggers Digest
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowCompanies (public & private company directories, SEC filings, and news/industry stories)
- Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
Basic company information for over 20 million North American and 70 million global companies (directory information from Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet) as well as industry profiles. Also includes WhitePages data allowing for people and business search including reverse phone lookup. The Global Corporate Family Tree feature places companies into their full ownership context. Customized reports and lists can be downloaded to Excel, Word and PDF formats. - Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
One of the best tools for business research, includes scholarly and trade publications, industry profiles, and the like. An ELM Database.
- SEC EDGARPublic access to corporate information, including registration statements, prospectuses and periodic reports filed on Forms 10-K and 10-Q. Also includes recent corporate events reported on Form 8-K but that a company does not have to disclose to investors.
- Forbes Companies ListsLists of ranked companies such as "Asia's Best Under a Billion 2021"
- ThomasNetU.S. companies, products, and suppliers
News Sources
- ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - Factiva This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of major business publications as well as other newspapers and magazines.
- Wall Street JournalAccess to the Wall Street Journal through library databases
- Financial Times This link opens in a new windowInternational daily newspaper with a focus on business and economic news. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using Carleton e-mail addresses using the access link above. Once registered, you can use your account to log in to FT.com from anywhere on any device by clicking on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner. Guest access for non-affiliated users is available within Gould Library. Please consult the Research/IT Desk during standard reference hours.
- The Economist (back-up option)(in case the link above doesn't work)
- Access World News This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - World News Connection This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Translated and English-language news and information. Particularly effective in its coverage of local media sources from around the world. Covers 1995-2013.
