Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in. - ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text) Includes all the databases in the Natural Science and Technology collections. It also provides full-text articles from scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more. Covers 1946-current.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database.
Finding Popular Sources in Library Databases
To find articles from newspapers and magazines, perform a search in SciTech Premium Collection or Academic Search Premier (linked above), then use filters on the left to narrow by source type to magazines/newspapers or by publication to a particular title like:
- Scientific American
- New Scientist
- Science News
You may find that there are better quality versions of the article on the magazine's web site - you might want to try both.
Credible, Science-Focused News Sources
- Science MagazineCovers news from all science disciplines.
- MAIN Nature.com - Advanced SearchNature distinguishes between research articles and news and other less specialized writing. Use the Article Type filter to narrow.
General News Databases
- ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - Access World News This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune).
