Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Welcome!
Welcome to the HIST 220 Research Guide! Here you will find resources to help you with your history research. Use the side navigation to find:
- Resources to find information on your topic (scroll down)
- Information on how to cite your sources in Chicago style
- Information on how to schedule an appointment with your librarian
Reference Sources
Begin your search with reference works to find background information, locate statistics and facts, gather ideas for keywords to use in searching databases and build a bibliography. Come back to these sources to clarify concepts or facts as you continue your research.
Black American Cinema by ISBN: 0415903963Publication Date: 1993-08-18This is the first major collection of criticism on Black American cinema. From the pioneering work of Oscar Micheaux and Wallace Thurman to the Hollywood success of Spike Lee, Black American filmmakers have played a remarkable role in the development of the American film, both independent and mainstream.
The Encyclopedia of Racism in American Films by ISBN: 9781442269057Publication Date: 2018-04-12The Encyclopedia of Racism in American Film documents one facet of racism in the film industry, wherein historically underrepresented peoples are misrepresented--through a lack of roles for actors of color, stereotyping, negative associations, and an absence of rich, nuanced characters. Offering insights and analysis from over seventy scholars, critics, and activists, the volume highlights issues such as: -Hollywood's diversity crisis -White Savior films -Magic Negro tropes -The disconnect between screen images and lived realities of African Americans, Latinos, Native Americans, and Asians
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema by ISBN: 1442247010Publication Date: 2015-05-07This second edition of Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema covers its history through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 1400 cross-referenced entries on actors, actresses, movies, producers, organizations, awards, and terminology, this book provides a better understanding of the role African Americans played in film history.
Catalyst & Specialized Databases
Try searching with these subject headings:
-
Blaxploitation Films
-
African American Motion Picture Producers and Directors
-
African Americans in Motion Pictures
- AM Explorer This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Includes the African American Communities Collection, which focuses on African Americans' local efforts to overcome discrimination and second-class citizenship, encompassing a diverse array of local primary sources. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film, music, and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2015. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Provides citations to articles on film and television, with some full text. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Mainly for articles on literature, this database does include citations for articles on film and other media not indexed in other databases. (citations, 1963-current) - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things. - ProQuest Black Studies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars. - Umbra Search This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Portal to digital African American history and culture collections online.
Internet Resources
- Black Film ArchivesBlack Film Archive is a living register of Black films. In its current iteration, it showcases Black films made from 1915 to 1979 currently streaming.
