LibKey Nomad
Catalyst (the catalog) & Specialized Databases
All Formats
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present.
Peer-Reviewed Journals
- The Mariner's Mirror (1911-present)This journal contains research into matters relating to seafaring and shipbuilding in all ages among all nations, into the language and customs of the sea, and into other subjects of nautical interest.
- International Journal of Nautical Archaeology (1972-present)IJNA addresses the theory and practice of archaeology and related academic disciplines, such as cultural geography, history, ethnography, oceanography and anthropology, which investigate human associations with water and waterborne craft of all periods throughout the world, on seas and inland waters. NOTE: Our access starts in 1997.
- International journal of maritime history (1989-present)The IJMH publishes studies of a multidisciplinary nature on a broad range of maritime historical themes, including shipping, shipbuilding, seafaring, ports, resorts and other coastal communities, sea-borne trade, fishing, environment and the culture of the sea.
- The Northern mariner : journal of the Canadian Nautical Research Society (1991-present)The Northern Mariner is devoted to the study of maritime affairs and the inland waterways of the nations that touch the seas of the northern hemisphere.
Other scholarly sources
- Sea History - National Maritime Historical SocietyIncludes their publications, like Sea History Magazine, and links to relevant digitized archival collections around the internet.
The Oxford Companion to Ships and the SeaCall Number: ONLINEISBN: 9780199205684Publication Date: 2006It brings together more than 2,600 entries on every imaginable aspect of the seas and the vessels that sail on them, from shipbuilding, yachting, diving, and marine mammals, to tidal power, piracy, and the literature and language of the sea. This Companion also includes authoritative and fascinating entries on maritime history: naval battles, ships, and famous individuals, both real and fictional. Includes images.
