LibKey Nomad
Getting Started
This guide includes links to numerous resources, any of which might provide relevant information for your project. However, the resources on this page are all reliable starting places to consider. If you don't find what you need using these resources, explore the links on the rest of the guide.
Search Catalyst
All Formats
Country Information
- CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. - Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Combines the Europa World Year Book and the nine-volume Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Provides up-to-date political and economic information for more than 250 countries and territories.
Scholarly Articles
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Use Google's special academic search to locate scholarly articles from across disciplines. On campus, the preferences are set to indicate the Library's full-text access to what you find (links on the right). Use the "cited by" link to see who has cited a particular work you're interested in. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present.
Data
- V-DemAll countries, 1900-present, on various measures of democracy. Measures these democratic qualities: Electoral, Liberal, Participatory, Majoritarian, Consensual, Deliberative, and Egalitarian. Also provides subcomponent measures re. elections, judiciary, etc.
- WDI: World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statistical data for development indicators and time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Covers 1960 - present.
Note: For data documentation, see the print reference book: World Development Indicators, at call number Ref HC 59.15 .W656. - OECD Statistics Portal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Starting point for links to OECD statistics and data. We don't subscribe to all OECD data but can obtain publications via interlibrary loan if needed.
- World Values Survey
- This link opens in a new window
Surveys individuals in countries around the world on attitudes, values, trust, and demographics. - World Bank Open DataGlobal development data that you can navigate by country and indicator. Themes provided by the World Bank help highlight important indicators.
News and Current Affairs
The resources below will connect you to international, national, and local newspapers, as well as to leading magazines. News articles help you stay up-to-date on current affairs, allow you to track prior events as they unfolded, and can often connect you to experts on a particular topic (by following up on who an author might interview for insight on the event being covered).
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current New York Times. Subscription access provided through a partnership with the Carleton Student Association. First-time users will need to make an account with their Carleton credentials; faculty & staff accounts need to be every few years. - Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current Washington Post content going back to 2004, including access to the WaPo app. Archives searchable back through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Click "more..." below for app signup instructions... - Financial Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International daily newspaper with a focus on business and economic news. Current students, faculty, and staff must register and create personal accounts using Carleton e-mail addresses using the access link above. Once registered, you can use your account to log in to FT.com from anywhere on any device by clicking on the "Sign in" link in the upper right-hand corner. Guest access for non-affiliated users is available within Gould Library. Please consult the Research/IT Desk during standard reference hours. - PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they are available. Searchable by country, title, or date. Includes translation feature.
