Research Guides: Politics of Contemporary China: Newspapers & Magazines

US News Sources

New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current New York Times. Subscription access provided through a partnership with the Carleton Student Association. First-time users will need to make an account with their Carleton credentials; faculty & staff accounts need to be every few years.
Note for existing NYTimes.com subscribers:
SIGN UP HERE! If you have an active paid account with the New York Times using your @carleton.edu email address, you may keep your subscription. Or, to register for our institutional subscription, you must first cancel your existing subscription -- this includes both personal subscriptions, and subscriptions from other institutions, even if it is lapsed. To cancel your subscription and switch to our institutional subscription, contact the New York Times directly at edu@nytimes.com.
Washington Post (washingtonpost.com) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to current Washington Post content going back to 2004, including access to the WaPo app. Archives searchable back through ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Click "more..." below for app signup instructions...
You can now receive Digital Subscription access provided by Carleton. Follow these steps to activate your free subscription to enjoy unlimited access to The Washington Post online and on the app.
1. Visit the signup page to sign-up with your Carleton email address. Enter your Carleton email address, agree to the Terms of Service and hit Continue. Choose a password and click create an account.
2. Click on Your Name in the upper right-hand corner
3. Click My Post
4. Once you are in My Post, click Manage Account on the right hand side.
5. Make sure your email address is Verified, if not, click “Unverified” to be sent a verification email. If your email address is already verified, you will not get this prompt.
6. Once verified, click over to the Subscription & Billing tab.
7. Click Activate free digital access
ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune).
Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full content of the website for Foreign Policy magazine. When off-campus, use the campus VPN for best access.

International News Sources

There are multiple options for accessing individual newspapers and newspapers by country. Some, but not all, newspapers can be read as text-only (HTML) articles or PDFs of the printed editions. Databases (Access World News, Press Reader, ProQuest Newsstream) operate differently than one another -- so depending on how/what you want to read, one database may be a better fit than others.

To find out if we have access to an individual newspaper, go to our "Find Periodicals" page and search by newspaper title. If we have access, the record in the results list will show you what databases provide access. Example: Hindustan Times. Access World News allows you to search within the articles of an individual newspapers, as well as browse.

To search multiple newspapers in a country or region, use Access World News' "Map Search" (linked to on AWN's homepage). Refine your location by clicking on the map, and selecting the country (or countries) you'd like to search. Coverage varies by country.

The links below also include links directly to the websites of individual newspapers that Carleton does not have a paid subscription for. Note: You may run into a paywall with these websites, so get in touch with Sean if you are having issues with access.

Newspaper Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune).
PressReader This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the world's top newspapers and magazines as soon as they are available. Searchable by country, title, or date. Includes translation feature.

Individual Publications

China Daily
- This link opens in a new window
People's Daily
- This link opens in a new window
South China Morning Post
- This link opens in a new window
Hindustan Times
- This link opens in a new window
Yomiuri Shimbun
Chosun Ibo
Straits Times
- This link opens in a new window

Magazines

The Economist
Full-text, PDF access to print issues of The Economist
The Economist Online
Full-text access to online-only articles posted to The Economist's website.

Foreign Policy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to full content of the website for Foreign Policy magazine. When off-campus, use the campus VPN for best access.

The Atlantic Monthly
Full-text, PDF access to the print edition of The Atlantic (does not include online-only articles)