LibKey Nomad
Collections
-
AM Explorer This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources from the 15th-21st centuries, including the social sciences, humanities, global history, popular culture, history of media, gender and sexuality, trade history, borders and migrations, and war and conflict.
GOVERNMENT DOCUMENTS
-
Animal Legal and Historical Center [Michigan State]A comprehensive repository of information about animal law, including: over 1200 full text cases (US, historical, and UK), over 1400 US statutes, over 60 topics and comprehensive explanations, legal articles on a variety of animal topics and an international collection.
-
Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism, 1957-1995 This link opens in a new windowJournal articles and reports collected and translated by the CIA covering the rise of modern climate science and environmentalism during the second half of the 20th century.
-
HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowTraditional legal materials (reported cases, statutes, government regulations, academic law reviews, commercially produced law journals and magazines, and classic treatises), historical, governmental, and political documents, legislative debates, legislative and executive branch reports, world constitutions, international treaties, military history, and reports and other documents of international organizations.
MAGAZINES and NEWSPAPERS
-
National Geographic Magazine Archive, 1888-2015 This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A full-color, searchable collection of archived issue of National Geographic Magazine. More info on newer issues in Catalyst. -
Vogue Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowContains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day.
-
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A fully digitized archive of the backfiles of several major North American women's magazines, including Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, WIN News, and Woman's Day. Coverage varies by publication and ranges from 1886 through 2005.
FOOD and COOKBOOKS
-
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks and recipe books, menus, marketing pamphlets, posters, and secondary sources as well as documentaries, interview series, and vintage commercials.
-
Kirschner Cookbook Collection (UMN)Over 150 digitized cookbooks
-
Carleton Cookbook CatalogA comprehensive list of all of the cookbooks found in Carleton's catalog.
IMAGES, ART, VIDEO/DOCUMENTARIES
-
Minnesota Veterinary Museum Digital Collection (MNCollections)Over 1000 digitized objects, books, and oral histories that tell the story of veterinary medicine in Minnesota.
-
JSTOR ImagesIncludes ArtSTOR content, plus images from museums and archives around the world.
-
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes images from hundreds of sources and thousands of artists, from prehistory to the present, from the Bridgeman Art Library. -
Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive streaming video collection including documentaries, newsreels, theater, musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines.
Medical History Sources
-
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics [Harvard University]Historical scholarship about disease and epidemics. Over 500,000 pages of plates, engravings, maps, charts, and broadsides from the 15th - 20th centuries.
-
Guide to specialized primary source material about the history of public health (Sam Houston State University)Mostly sources from and about the United States
-
Wellcome Collection digital imagesFind thousands of Creative Commons licensed images from historical Wellcome Collection (London) library materials and museum objects to contemporary digital photographs.
-
Accessible Archives: Quarantine and Disease Control in AmericaContains first-hand accounts of American infectious diseases: Newspapers (1736-1922), and Books (1823-1928). **Use Browse/Search functions!
-
Medical Heritage LibraryA digital curation collaborative among some of the world’s leading medical libraries, promotes free and open access to quality historical resources in medicine.
-
Yale Medical Historical Library - Digitized CollectionsIncunabula, Arabic and Persian manuscripts, postcards, posters, photographs, book plates, lantern slides, portraits, surgical instruments, prints and drawings, newsletters and theses, advertising, and more. Dates range from 1300-2000s.
-
Medicine and Madison Avenue (Duke Libraries)About 600 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
-
The History of Western Medicine in China Resources PortalThis is a wide collection of information -- archive guides, primary sources, digitized materials. Most sources to date focus on the period from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the formation of the People's Republic of China.
-
Journal: "The Lancet" (London, 1823-present)Popular and well-known general medical journal.
-- Archives in HathiTrust: 1823-1928 (or copyright barrier)
-- 1991-present in library databases -
Journal: "Public health reports" (U.S. Marine Hospital Service 1887-2017)The predecessor to the U.S. Public Health Service Commissioned Corps & Surgeon General's Public Health Reports, it includes weekly updates from around the country and globe about health issues and disease outbreaks.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The US National Institutes of Health provide this free index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. If full text is not linked to or provided for a particular citation, search our Journals List to see if we have alternate access to the journal publishing that article. -
NCCO: Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowSearch using the second search box down
Drawn from the holdings of the National Library of Medicine the collection includes the content of more than twelve hundred journals. Covers topics such as: the evolution of contagion theory, changing ideas about medical ethics, the growth of medical specialization, and the development of medical societies and medical education. The collection also documents both the rich history of unorthodox medicine and the history of closely related fields, such as dentistry and pharmacy.
-
CRL: Public health periodicals (English)Manually browse through digitized historical public health periodicals (journals).
-
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics [Harvard University]Historical scholarship about disease and epidemics. Over 500,000 pages of plates, engravings, maps, charts, and broadsides from the 15th - 20th centuries.
-
Biodiversity Heritage LibraryCataloged historical scholarship about natural history and botany.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.
The National Library of Medicine (NLM) has a large and extensive history of medicine collection. As part of the library's mission to provide access and preserve its collection of books, ephemera, pamphlets, posters, etc, the library has created several digitized collections.
-
National Library of Medicine (NLM) / NIH Digital CollectionsDigitized images, videos, books, manuscripts, and declassified government documents about the history of medicine, from countries around the world (mostly US). Includes curated exhibits.
-
Medicine in the Americas (1610-1920): A Digital Library"Drawing on the collections of NLM's History of Medicine Division and including works from the United States, Latin America, the Caribbean and Canada, this initial release of Medicine in the Americas encompasses monographs dating from 1610 to 1865. Additional titles, dating up to 1920 and drawing further upon NLM's comprehensive collection of early American printed books and journals, will be available on an ongoing basis in the future."
-
Images from the History of MedicineContains nearly 70,000 images from the NLM, including portraits, photographs, posters, and graphic art important to the history of medicine from the 15th through the 21st centuries.
-
Profiles in ScienceDigital archive of papers from prominent 20th scientists, physicians, and other leaders in medical and scientific fields who have contributed to the development of medical science.
-
Turning the PagesFeatures nine works important to our understanding of the history of medicine, including Hanaoka Seishu’s Surgical Casebook, Hieronymus Brunschwig’s Liber de Arte Distilland, and Andreas Vesalius's De Humani Corporis Fabrica (On the Fabric of the Human Body) **Note that this will no longer fully load; only the images will be able to load.
-
CDC Publication ArchivesCDC Stacks is a free, digital archive of scientific research and literature produced by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Contains current CDC research and literature, and historical publications, such as the first 30 volumes of the Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report.
-
CDC @ National Archives (Record Group 442)Search within the records of the CDC in the National Archives (RG 442). Index of the collection.
-
CDC - LGBT HealthResources and statistics.
-
CDC FOIA Reading RoomDeclassified and digitized documents from the CDC.
-
CDC @ HathiTrustPublicly available full text publications by and about the CDC.
-
CDC PublicationsLinks to collections of current publications put out by the CDC.
-
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention [Internet Archive]A collection of public health material, podcasts, and information for children published by the CDC.
-
Historical Statistics of the United StatesGathers census statistics that were gathered in the United states from colonial times to the present. Search in Part A - Population > Chapter Ab - Vital Statistics > Table Group Ab912-1137 - Mortality to see how many people died from which diseases.
-
International historical statistics Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2005CC Ref HA4675 .M552 2007
-
WHO: World Health Organization This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes reports and statistics about world health.
