Librarian
Finding Books
Catalyst
The Gould Library has rich collections of books, journals, government documents, and other resources. You may access them via Catalyst, the online catalog that is shared by Carleton and St. Olaf. You may search Catalyst by title, author, subject, or word.
Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Earth and Physical SciencesCall Number: Ref QE 5 .E513 1998 vol.1-11Availability and more information from Catalyst...
A comprehensive and excellent source on all aspects of earth and physical sciences. 
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences by Call Number: Ref QE 5 .E5137 1996 vol. 1-2ISBN: 0028830008Publication Date: 1996-05-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Well-organized source for information on all aspects of earth science. Lengthy entries, signed with bibliographies.- Encyclopedia of GeochemistryCall Number: Ref QE 515 .E48 1999Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Excellent source, in-depth coverage, signed articles and extensive bibliographies. 
Encyclopedia of Paleontology by Call Number: Ref QE 703 .E58 vol.1-2ISBN: 1884964966Publication Date: 1999-12-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Fascinating source; lavish drawings, lengthy articles, bibliographies and biographies of famous paleontologists.
Use these sources at the beginning of your research to get an overview of a topic or to identify synonyms, related terms, or simply data that will apply to your topic. Later, return to these sources to clarify concepts or define new vocabulary. These sources often include bibliographical references that may prove helpful.
Books from other libraries
Books from St. Olaf
Catalyst searches Carleton and St. Olaf libraries. To request a book from St. Olaf, click "Sign in for Request Options", then click the "Request" link under Physical Copies. You will get an email when the book arrives. Books are delivered twice daily Mon-Fri. You can also use your OneCard to check out books at the St. Olaf libraries.
WorldCat - Finding books from other libraries
Search WorldCat, an online catalog for libraries throughout the world, to find books that Carleton and St. Olaf don't have. If you find a book through WorldCat that is not at Carleton or St. Olaf libraries, you will need to order the book through InterLibrary Loan.
