LibKey Nomad
Check References & Bibliographies
One of the best ways to learn the scholarship in an area is to search in books and articles you're reading for helpful citations in their
- footnotes and
- bibliographies (works cited)
Then look those things up in....
-
Catalyst This link opens in a new windowSearch the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
-
Journals A-Z listSearch for journals by title or subject in the library's journal A-Z list. Here you can find journal coverage and be able to link to the full text when available.
Specialized Collections
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThe major index to scholarly literature on the history of the world from 1450 to present.
-
Africana Periodical Literature DatabaseAn English language database that indexes articles from journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
-
Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
An indexing database that contains citations to books and journal articles published since 1984. They are searchable by keyword, subject, geographic area, country, and other bibliographic information.
-
International African Bibliography
Call Number: CC Reference DT3 .I58Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Jan. 1971 - 2012
Indexes 1,150 periodicals each year. Arranged by area/topic; 1980 to date issues have subject and ethnic group indexes but they are not detailed.
Databases & Specialized Collections
-
Africana Periodical Literature Database This link opens in a new windowAn English language database that indexes articles from journals and periodicals that specialize in African Studies or consistently cover the African continent.
-
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. -
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
Index of scholarship on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world, 1906 - current. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. -
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things. -
Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
An indexing database that contains citations to books and journal articles published since 1984. They are searchable by keyword, subject, geographic area, country, and other bibliographic information.
-
Africa Bibliography
by
Call Number: Ref DT3 .A38Brings together works published on Africa in a given year. Arranged by region, country, and then subject. -
International African Bibliography
Call Number: CC Reference DT3 .I58Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Jan. 1971 - 2012
Indexes 1,150 periodicals each year. Arranged by area/topic; 1980 to date issues have subject and ethnic group indexes but they are not detailed.
Catalyst Advanced Search
Search Catalyst to find books and materials owned by the Carleton and St. Olaf Libraries. In addition to scholarship, or secondary sources, Catalyst has information for narratives, periodicals, and newspapers, and other materials that serve as primary sources for historical research.
TIPS:
Do a keyword search for words that seem related to your country, kingdom, or region.
All Formats
How to find a journal article?
- Click the Find It! button, and follow links into full text
- No full text? Look up the journal title in Catalyst and try browsing to the article (it might be on paper!)
- Still no luck? Submit an Inter-Library Loan (ILL) request
-
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request books or articles that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
-
Catalyst This link opens in a new windowSearch the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
