Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
Selected reference works, electronic resources, and Web sites in Theater
Selections from American magazines and journals published from 1741 to 1900. Includes many reviews or "notices" of American theatrical productions of the time. To search for reviews only, type "review" in one of the search boxes and then, using the drop-down menu next to it, change the scope of the search box to "document type." You can then enter your search term (author, title of work, etc.) in the next search box.
This database includes the full text of The New York Times from 1851 to 2003, The Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 1989, and The Los Angeles Times from 1881 to 1985. You will find contemporary reviews for plays and performances in these newspapers as well as news articles about the theater world. To search for reviews only, type "review" in one of the search boxes and then, using the drop-down menu next to it, change the scope of the search box to "document type." You can then enter your search term (author, title of work, etc.) in the next search box.
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. Contains full text of such publications as Back Stage, The Stage, and Variety.
Complete reviews from the following New York publications and television stations whenever covered by the critic: New York Daily News, Wall Street Journal, Time, New York Post, Women's Wear Daily, WABC-TV, CBS-TV, New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, and Newsweek.
This index includes citations of reviews in popular magazines from 1890-1982 including such titles as Newsweek, Time, Life, The New Republic, The New Yorker, and The Nation. This is not a full-text database, though, so you will need to find the cited review among the bound periodicals on the library's third floor or request the article through Interlibrary Loan if we do not own the magazine.
Full-text page images of The Times (London) from 1785 to current (except for the most recent 5 years). Includes articles as well as advertisements, illustrations, and photos.
A Guide to Critical Reviews by James M. Salem
Call Number: Reference: PN1707 .S34
Publication Date: 1966-01-01
Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An index to reviews published in U.S. and Canadian periodicals of plays and musicals produced in New York. Note: index only, does not contain full text.