COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A renowned collection of Latin and Greek texts with translations. It includes epic and lyric poetry, tragedy, comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, as well as medical, mathematical, and religious texts.
Texts in the online Loeb Classical Library may be bookmarked, annotated, and highlighted but may not be downloaded or viewed offline. The Library has print copies of most of the volumes.
This is a collection of primary texts related to the history of Latin Christianity. According to their web site, "the Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 CE to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216."
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Considered the most comprehensive source for Latin lexicography, includes full text of literary works, inscriptions, and other documentary evidence written in Latin from 400BCE to 600CE.
Includes virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453. Users must set up a free online account in order to access the full corpus.