Print Reference Sources
- GN is the call number range for books on anthropology
- E 50 - E 99 is the call number range for books on American Indians
Encyclopedias and other general reference titles are used to get an overview of a topic written by a specialist, find related terms that will apply to your topic, or identify a selected list of references.
Anthropology Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology by Call Number: CC Reference GN 307 .E52 1996ISBN: 0805028773Publication Date: 1996-06-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Articles written by well-known anthropologists; covers the intellectual and conceptual topics in the discipline; includes a list of discipline journals.
Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts by Call Number: CC Reference GN 316 .R37 2000Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Major concepts are defined and explained; extensive bibliography included.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life by Call Number: CC Reference GN 333 .W67 1998Volume 2.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures. vol. 1. North America. by Call Number: CC Ref GN 550 .E53 1991Availability and more information from Catalyst...
About Native Americans
- Handbook of North American Indians by Call Number: Gov Docs SI 1.20/2: (Level 1)Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Library has: volumes 4 - 15; 17.This work, published by the Smithsonian and distributed through the Government Document depository system is the standard reference work in the area. Chapters are written by recognized authorities, the bibliographies are extensive and lead you to the most relevant literature. If you look at any book on this page look at this one (more description). Example from class (PDF). - Dictionary of Native American MythologyCall Number: CC Ref E 98 .R3 G46 1992Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Encyclopedia of Native American HealingCall Number: CC Ref E 98 .M4 L96 1996Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- The Encyclopedia of North American Indians byCall Number: CC Ref E 76.2 .E53 1997 v.1-10Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The Encyclopedia of North American Indians by Call Number: CC Ref E 76.2 .E53 1996Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Call Number: Ref E77. G15 1998ISBN: 0787610852Publication Date: 1998-03-05- The Lumbee Indians: An Annotated Bibliography, with Chronology and Index byCall Number: CC Ref E 99 .C91 S72 1994Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An example of a bibliography about a tribe. Search for the tribe name as a subject and the key word 'bibliography.' - Native America in the Twentieth CenturyCall Number: CC Ref E 76.2 .N36 1994Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Native American Women: A Biographical Dictionary. 2nd ed. byCall Number: CC Ref E 98 .W8 B38 2001Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Example of a topical bibliography 
Shamanism: An Encyclopedia of World Beliefs, Practices, and Culture by Call Number: CC Ref GN 475.8 .S445 2004Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Atlas of the North American Indian by Call Number: CC Ref E77 .W195 1985Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Incredibly rich source of maps of North American Indians. Maps like these are difficult to find elsewhere.
Subject Guide
Social Science LibrarianContact:4th Libe - Room 466
Contact reference@carleton.eduSubjects: Statistics
Questions? Contact reference@carleton.edu
Gould Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License unless otherwise noted.
Powered by Springshare.