LibKey Nomad
Mapping Language
-
World Atlas of Language Structures
Call Number: Ref P143 .W67 2005Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The Online version is easily browsable and searchable, and sources it's information thoroughly, leading you to important descriptions of specific languages and structures. -
Atlas of World LanguagesCall Number: Ref G1046.E3 A83 2006Availability and more information from Catalyst...
-
MLA Language Map of the United States
The MLA Language Map is for students, teachers, and anyone interested in learning about the linguistic and cultural composition of the United States. The Language Map uses aggregated data from the 2006–10 American Community Survey (ACS) to display the locations and numbers of speakers of twelve languages commonly spoken in the United States.
Where to look to find research done by related disciplines
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSociologists often study language and culture. "Linguistics" and "sociolinguistics" are two of the descriptors that you can use in this databases to focus your search on these particular topics in sociology.
-
Anthropological Literature This link opens in a new windowLike sociologists, anthropologists spend a great deal of time tracking the connections between languages and cultures. "Linguistics" is a subject word in this database that can help you narrow your search.
-
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowEducators are interested in brain development, language, and similar related topics. "Linguistics" and "Applied Linguistics" are two of their relevant descriptors.
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowBrain function and language are deeply connected, so there is a lot written about language and linguistics in the field of psychology. "Psycholinguistics" and "Neurolinguistics" are two of the descriptors that may be of help in this database.
Historical Linguistics of the Ancient World
-
L'Année Philologique This link opens in a new windowAn index to the literature about Greco-Roman archaeology, history, law, linguistics and literature, philosophy, and science and technology from the 2nd millennium BCE to 800 CE. Covers publications from 1924 to one year ago.
-
Nestor This link opens in a new window(Searches through citation information)
An international bibliography of Aegean studies, the Homeric society, Indo-European linguistics, and related fields. Covers 1957 - 2001.
