How to Cite Your Sources

Where to Find the Carleton Archives

The Archives is located on the first floor of Gould Library.   

Hours:
M-F 9-12, and 1-4, by appointment

Lots of ways to contact us: 

  • call x4270
  • send an email archives@carleton.edu
  • use the "contact us" link in the Archives Database

Helpful Hints

When working in an Archive, note the following information to include in your citation:

  • Box number
  • Folder number
  • Collection name
  • Author or photographer
  • Relevant dates
  • If referencing clippings, photocopies, or scans from publications, the name of the publication copied/clipped from is required

Chicago and other citation styles follow the National Archives citation requirements, found in this helpful document created by the National Archives: https://www.archives.gov/files/publications/general-info-leaflets/17-citing-records.pdf

Chicago

Elements to include (Rule)

Author (if applicable) / Title of the item (Rule) / date of the item (Rule) / item number (if applicable) / series title (if applicable) / series number (if applicable) / name of the collection (if applicable) / collection number (if applicable) / name of the depository or archive / location of depository (if applicable) / URL or DOI (if applicable)

Footnotes: Format (RuleExamples)

"In a note, the main element of a manuscript citation is usually a specific item (a letter, a memorandum, or whatever) and is thus cited first.”

Bibliography: Format (Rule & Examples)

In a bibliography: "Entries are usually listed under the name of the collection or under the author(s) of the items contained therein...If only one item from a collection has been mentioned in text or in a note and is considered important enough to include in a bibliography, the entry will begin with the item."

Frequently Asked Difficult Questions

APA and MLA

Citing archival collections in APA format

 

Author, A. A. (Year, Month Day). Title of material. [Description of material]. Name of Collection (Call number, Box number, File name or number, etc.). Name of Repository, Location.

 

Citing archival collections in MLA format

 

Author (last name, first name). Title/description of material. Date (day month year). Call number, identifier or box/folder/item number. Collection name. Name of repository, location.

Questions? Contact reference@carleton.edu

Creative Commons License
Gould Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License unless otherwise noted.