Skip to main content

COVID-19 Update: Although the Gould Library building remains closed, the library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

Library and Information Science Careers Resources

Guides and Directories

Library Careers
http://www.gustavus.edu/oncampus/academics/library/about/careers.html
Brought to you by the librarians at Gustavus Adolphus College.

Careers in Librarianship
http://www.lib.udel.edu/info/jobs/careersinlibrarianship.htm
Though published in 2003, much of the information in the guide remains relevant. Includes links to profiles of information professionals and several articles about careers in information science.

Librarians’ Internet Index--Librarianship
http://lii.org/pub/topic/libraries
Organized by librarians, this directory has links about all areas of librarianship and information science.

Open Directory entry for Libraries
http://dmoz.org/Reference/Libraries/
Contains links to a range of subtopics including: associations, library schools, employment, weblogs, and Librarians.

What do Librarians do?

https://ischoolonline.syr.edu/blog/what-do-librarians-do/

Informative and updated information about the serendipitous path to librarianship, from the iSchool at Syracuse University.

LIS Education

Many professional positions in libraries and related fields require a Master’s degree. There are almost 60 ALA-accredited institutions in the United States.

“Directory of Institutions Offering ALA-Accredited Master's Programs in Library and Information Studies.” http://www.ala.org/accreditedprograms/directory
Search the directory online or view the directory in PDF format.

“Guidelines for Choosing a Master’s Program in Library and Information Studies”
http://www.ala.org/ala/accreditation/lisdirb/guide.htm

Librarian

Research/IT Desk's picture
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
507-222-4264