Resources
Professor Feiler - Fall 2009
This guide contains information on:
1. The Literature Review
2. Behavioral Economics Resources and Example Data
The Literature Review
See the subject guide Economics: Literature for general guidance on using both the professional literature and newspapers and trade publications for your literature search.
Guidance for searching EconLit
Tips for making the most of your search in this key index of Economic scholarly literature.
Some of the JEL subject descriptors of particular use to this seminar are:
- C-Mathematical and Quantitative Methods
- D-Microeconomics
- H-Public Economics
- I-Health, Education, and Welfare
- J-Labor and Demographic Economics
Remember that both searching and browsing are worthwhile strategies. Spend some time with keywords and some time browsing the contents of specific journals or articles assigned specific subject headings.
Most Important Indexes to Journal Literature:
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Key index to economics journal articles, books, dissertations and working papers. Content includes both economic theory and application. Covers 1969 - current. - Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Available through the Web of Knowledge. Search through current and historical literature in the social sciences, and perform cited reference searching to see who has cite a particular document. Covers 1898 - current.
Note: To do cited reference searching, click on "cited reference search," fill in an author's last name and publication date, figure out which of the resulting list of citations match the work you're looking for, and then "finish search" to see who has cited that work.
Behavioral Economics Resources and Data on the Web
Al Roth's Game Theory, Experimental Economics, and Market Design Page
This economics professor at Harvard provides a huge array of links to bibliographies, articles, interview and lecture excerpts, and more.
Colin Camerer's Web Site
Recent papers and data published by this professor at the California Institute of Technology.
Federal Reserve Bank of Boston's Research Center for Behavioral Economics and Decision Making
Access working papers and presentations from conferences and events.
Game Theory
Entry on "game theory" from the Stanford Encylopedia of Philosophy also includes a very useful bibliography.
Handbook of Contemporary Behavioral Economics: Foundations and Developments; ed. by Morris Altman: CC Books HB74.P8 H363 2006
Herbert Gintis' Web Site
Papers, computer programs, and more from this University of Massachussets professor emeritus
Laboratory for Experimental Economics and Political Science
Access Caltech's EEPS: data and replays of experiments, and publications developed using the library's software.
The Philosophy of Experimental Economics: A Bibliography by University of Exeter professor Francesco Guala
