Black Film Archive
- Black Film Archive
This link opens in a new window
Black Film Archive is an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context.
Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
LibKey Nomad
Film Reference Sites
- Lost Films Database
- This link opens in a new window
A collaborative database listing over 3500 films believed or declared to be lost. - IMDb: Internet Movie Database
- This link opens in a new window
- American Film Institute (AFI) CatalogA scholarly listing of American films, with vetted information about the existence, availability, and sources of motion pictures, spanning the entirety of the art form since 1893.
Search Catalyst
All Formats
Selected Reference Books
Below is a partial list of general reference works on cinema studies. Our reference collection contains many more specific works to help you get started on your research.
The Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film by Call Number: Ref PN1993.45 .G65 2007 and onlineISBN: 0028657918A comprehensive introduction to film and film studies, covering such aspects as production, national traditions, studios, genres, critical theory, and film history. Includes more than 200 entries written by top scholars in the field of film studies. Also includes more than 230 career profiles, placing individual achievements in the context of specific topics (for example, a profile of Oscar Micheaux—a pioneering black filmmaker—appears in the article on "African American Cinema").
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers: Vol. 3: Actors and Actresses by Call Number: Ref PN1997.8.I58 2000 v.3ISBN: 155862452xPublication Date: 2001-05-11Encyclopedia of classic film stars. Includes a brief biography, filmography, and selected bibliography of books and articles for each star.
The Encyclopedia of Early Cinema by Call Number: Ref PN1993.45 .E53 2005 and onlineISBN: 0415234409Publication Date: 2005-01-12Coverage of cinema from the 1890s to the mid-1910s as well as pre-cinematic apparatuses and inventors.
