"The American Historical Association publishes the American Historical Review, the major historical journal in the United States. It includes scholarly articles and critical reviews of current publications in all fields of history. Founded in 1884 and chartered by Congress in 1889, its mission is to engage the interests of the entire discipline of history. Accordingly, the journal is always seeking individual manuscripts that have an appeal beyond a particular specialty and an array of articles that address the spatial, temporal, and thematic dimensions of the field. It commissions reviews of books and films determined to be of greatest relevance to professional historians." (publishers web site)

"Business History is an international journal concerned with the long-run evolution and contemporary operation of business systems and enterprises. Its primary purpose is to make available the findings of advanced research, empirical and conceptual, into matters of global significance, such as corporate organization and growth, multinational enterprise, business efficiency, entrepreneurship, technological change, finance, marketing, human resource management, professionalization and business culture. The journal has won a reputation for academic excellence and has a wide readership amongst management specialists, economists and other social scientists and economic, social, labour and business historians." (publisher's web site)

"The Business History Review is a quarterly journal of original research by leading historians, economists, and scholars of business administration. The journal began publication in 1926 as the Bulletin of the Business Historical Society and adopted its current name in 1954. The primary purpose of BHR, as stated when it began publication, is to "encourage and aid the study of the evolution of business in all periods and in all countries." Issues contain articles, announcements, book reviews, and occasionally research notes. Special issues or sections have been devoted to subjects such as business and the environment, computers and communications networks, business-government relations, and technological innovation." (JSTOR)

"The Economic History Review publishes articles based on original research on all aspects of economic and social history. The Review is edited on behalf of the Economic History Society by leading scholars. It has been published since 1927 and is one of the world's leading journals in the field. The Review welcomes contributions based on the full range of methodological approaches used by economic and social historians and is pleased to publish high quality research on the economic and social history of any area of the world. The emphasis is on broad coverage of themes of economic and social change, including their intellectual, political and cultural implications. In addition to regular papers, some issues contain contributions to a series of 'Surveys and Speculations' which are more reflective survey articles. For many years past a comprehensive annual list of publications on the economic and social history of Great Britain and Ireland has been published. Each issue also contains a substantial number of book reviews." (JSTOR)

"Publishes original papers that provide broad coverage of the application of economic analysis to historical episodes." (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)

"Focusing on the history of economic thought and analysis, History of Political Economy has made significant contributions to the history of political economics and remains the field's foremost means of communication. In addition to book reviews, each issue contains original research on the development of economic thought, the historical background behind major figures in the history of economics, the interpretation of economic theories, and the methodologies available to historians of economic theory." (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)

"The Journal of Economic History is devoted to the multidisciplinary study of history and economics, and is of interest not only to economic historians but to social and demographic historians, as well as economists in general. The journal has broad coverage, in terms of both methodology and geographic scope. Topics covered include money and banking, trade, manufacturing, technology, transportation, industrial organisation, labour, agriculture, servitude, demography, education, economic growth, and the role of government and regulation. In addition, an extensive book review section keeps readers informed about the latest work in economic history and related fields." (JSTOR)

"The Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) began publication in 1969 under the auspices of the American Economic Association with quarterly issues appearing in March, June, September, and December. JEL contains survey and review articles, book reviews, an annotated bibliography of newly published books, and a list of current dissertations in North American universities." (AEA web site)

"Provides a pluralistic forum for the discussion of traditions in the history of economic thought." (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory)

"The Journal of Political Economy has published significant research and scholarship in economic theory and practice since 1892. Presenting analytical, interpretive, and empirical studies, this journal presents work in traditional areas--monetary theory, fiscal policy, labor economics, planning and development, micro- and macroeconomic theory, international trade and finance, industrial organization--as well as in such interdisciplinary fields as the history of economic thought and social economics." (JSTOR)