LibKey Nomad
Looking for Articles
Search these online indexes for journals featuring articles about your topic.
Usually, it's helpful to start a search experimenting with lots of different keywords about your topic. Then, narrow your search once you have learned the distinct, precise subject headings each database uses.
Also, use bibliographies from reference books and the articles you were assigned in class to locate good sources.
Political Science and International Relations
The following are core indexes for Political Science research.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 400 humanities and social sciences titles. Limit by title or discipline. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online archive of 100+ full-text Political Science journals. Best for browsing or locating a specific article versus searching on a topic. Keep in mind the "moving wall"--most publishers do not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Selectively rather than comprehensively indexes some journals. - CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and abstracts)
Find scholarship on theory and research in international affairs, including working papers, conference papers, and government reports. 1991 - current.
Journals
These are suggested journals; keep in mind, however, that this list is simply to get you started!
Locate journals using the Gould Library A-Z List.
- Foreign Affairs
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences
Political Science journals are also indexed here; you will also find your research topic covered in other disciplines.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The main discipline index of journals and over 500 collective volumes, plus books, dissertations, and working papers. - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International. Indexes many political science and international relations journals. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current.
Interdisciplinary
Search broad, interdisciplinary databases in order to find articles from areas in which you might not have thought to look.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes 2,700 journals across 50 social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals, from 1956 to present. Features cited reference searching, a process whereby one tracks the number of times a specific work has been cited or referenced in other works.
Working Papers and Dissertations
Turn to these databases and websites to locate pre-published papers.
- BREAD: Data from Developing Countries
This link opens in a new window
A list of data sources specific to developing countries from Duke's Bureau for Research in Economic Analysis of Development (BREAD).
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to thousands of dissertations and thesis (U.S. only) published since 1997.
- SSRN: Social Science Research Network
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of working and forthcoming papers plus hundreds of thousands of downloadable papers.
"Can I Get This Article?"
Search Catalyst
All Formats
