Skip to Main Content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

PHYS 342: Contemporary Experimental Physics

Spring 2021 -- For Professor Melissa Eblen-Zayas

What is EndNote?

EndNote is a bibliographic management tool that can help you collect and organize references and pdfs that you’ve found and read. EndNote also makes creating bibliographies in Word quick and easy, in hundreds of different styles (including AIP).

EndNote is available on all computers in the computer labs.  You may also download and install EndNote on your own computer if you are a student, faculty, or staff.  Installation links and instructions are at the bottom of this page.

Citing with EndNote

Set the Style

  1. In EndNote, click on drop-down box in the right pane above the citation preview.  Or go to Edit -> Output Styles -> Open Style Manager
  2. Choose "Select Another Style"
  3. Choose JACS-CC or J Amer Chem Society-CC.  Make sure it has the "-CC" prefix.

Contact a librarian if you do not have the correct style on your computer!  We'll get you set up.  

Cite While You Write

Cite While You Write lets you cite articles in-text while you’re writing your paper.  It will generate a bibliography automatically. 

  1. In your word document, place or leave your cursor where you want your in-text citation to appear.
  2. Go to the EndNote Toolbar in Word and click on “Insert Citation”, 
  3. Search for the paper(s) you want to cite, and highlight them. 
  4. In a few seconds your citation and bibliography (at the end of the document) will appear.
  5. If the bibliography is in the wrong style, go to the EndNote toolbar in Word and choose the style you need to use, or click “Confiugre Bibliography” and choose your output style.  

Stand-alone bibliography

A stand-alone bibliography will not be connected with EndNote.  This gives you more flexibility in editing it later and you can use it to add a bibliography to a poster or a presentation that isn't in Word. 

  1. In EndNote, highlight the references you want in your bibliography.
  2. Click Edit -> Copy Formatted. 
  3. Paste the bibliography in your document.

Import Records from INSPEC or Web of Science to EndNote

  1. After searching in Web of Science, mark the records you want to bring over to EndNote and add them to your marked list.
  2. Click on Marked List to see your saved records.
  3. At the bottom of the page, in the Output Records box, choose “Selected Records.”
  4. In Step 2, choose “Full Record” if available, otherwise, “Author, Title, Source” and “Plus Abstract.”
  5. Click the “EndNote” button.
  6. Choose to open the file with EndNote.
  7. If asked, choose your library.
  8. You should see the new references in your EndNote library.
  9. Click All References to see all the references in your library.

Search Web of Science through EndNote

If you already know the item you want to add, it can be a lot easier to simply search for it through EndNote:

  1. Click the World icon, under “Online Search” choose “more…"
  2. Choose the connection file Web of Science (TS)-CC”.
  3. The top of the EndNote pane will change to “Search Remote Library” with a form for entering your search terms.
  4. Enter your search and click “Search”.
  5. You will be shown how many results match your search.  Click “OK” to import those results.

Organize your sources in EndNote

One of the great things about EndNote is its ability to help you organize your research sources.

Link the full-text of your sources to your EndNote library

  1. Highlight the references in EndNote
  2. Go to the References menu and choose Find Full Text
  3. EndNote will search through our online subscriptions and download and link the full text pdfs to the record in EndNote.
  4. You can also drag and drop a pdf on to the record in EndNote

Taking notes about your sources

Annotate your pdfs! 
  1. Click the record in EndNote.
  2. The pdf will appear on the right pane.
  3. You  can add notes or highlight text in the pdf pane.
Add searchable notes!
  1. Click the record in EndNote
  2. Type any notes in the Research Notes field
Search through your notes
  1. In the top menu of EndNote click "Show Search Pane" if it's not already there.
  2. Enter your search terms to search through all your records in EndNote.

Groups

Groups are like folders for organizing your records, except that you can put a record in more than one group.

Create Groups
  1. Go to Groups -> Create Groups
  2. Name the group
  3. Drag and drop records in to the group
Smart Groups

You can also make groups that will have records added automatically if they match criteria that you set

  1. Go to Groups -> Create a Smart Group
  2. Name the group
  3. Add the criteria for the group
  4. Records will automatically be added to the smart group if they match the criteria