EndNote

Information and tips to effectively use the EndNote Program.

Setting up

Installing EndNote

The library's EndNote guide (linked below) will walk you through installing and using EndNote on your own computer. EndNote is also available on campus lab computers.

Citation Styles for Biology

Be sure to use one of these two citation styles, and make sure that when you choose the style it ends in "-CC" so that you know it's Carleton's version of the style.

To install a style, download the file. Then save that file to a folder on your computer (your EndNote application folder works well for this, but isn't necessary). In EndNote, navigate to "Preferences" and then "Folder Locations," then in the box for "styles" select the folder where you just saved this style.

All output style, import filter, and connections are kept on the LABS network folder. See the EndNote guide's main page for instructions on connecting to LABS. All files in these folders bearing the “CC” designation have been created or modified by Carleton College librarians, and you should select those files whenever possible.

EndNote Exercises for Comps

Exercises and instructions presented here for Mac. There will be slight differences for Windows users.

EXERCISE I -- CREATE YOUR OWN "PERSONAL LIBRARY"

  1. Navigate on your computer to Macintosh HD > Applications > EndNote X8 and open the EndNote X8 application.
  2. Click "Create a New Library" (it will have the default name of "My EndNote Library")
  3. Do NOT click the "Save as package" box
  4. Save the library to your computer (this will create both a library file and a data folder -- both of which must be in the same location on your computer)
  5. Towards the bottom right of the EndNote screen you'll see the word "Annotated." Click that to open the citation style menu and choose "Select Another Style."
  6. Click "Cell-CC" or "Amer Naturalist-CC"
  7. Click "Choose"

You have just created and set up your library!

EXERCISE II -- CUSTOMIZING THE LIBRARY AND ENABLING "FIND FULL TEXT"

  1. In EndNote, click the "EndNote X8" menu item in your menu bar and then select "Preferences"
  2. Select "Display Fields"
    1. Change Column 1 to "File Attachments"
    2. Change Column 2 to "Figure"
    3. Change Column 3 to "Author"
    4. Change Column 4 to "Year"
    5. Change Clumn 5 to "Title"
    6. Change Column 6 to "Journal/Secondary Title"
    7. Change Clumn 7 to "Alternate Journal/Title
    8. Leave Column 8 as it is
  3. Back on the left-hand column, click "Find Full Text."
    1. In the OpenURL Path box put: http://carleton-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/openurl/01BRC_CCO/01BRC_CCO_SERVICES?
  4. Click "Save" and close the window

EXERCISE III -- USING GROUPS TO ORGANIZE YOUR REFERENCES

Instead of having one large EndNote Library, version X8 allows you to seamlessly create “groups” so that your libraries, especially specialized ones, can remain separate and easy to search.

To create a group:

  1. Go to "Groups" in the EndNote Toolbar and select "Create Group"
  2. A blank space appears in the left-hand navigation area of the EndNote screen -- type in "Random References" and hit the Enter key
  3. There are no limits to the number of reference in a group so go for it!

EXERCISE IV -- SEARCHING "THE WEB OF KNOWLEDGE"

There are TWO methods for searching the Web of Knowledge

METHOD 1: Use a "Connection," which is located on the left side fo the "Online Search" mode screen. (Before you begin make certain that you are in the "Inegrated Mode" located at the upper left of the EndNote library.)

  1. Click the "More" link in the left column of EndNote
  2. Scroll down and choose "Web of Science (ISI)-CC" and then click "Choose"
  3. At the top of the EndNote library you will now have search boxes. Where it says "Title" put in tetrahymena and then click "Search"
  4. There will be many hits. Take the first 20 and click "OK"
  5. Highlight all of the references
  6. No click the icon in your toolbar that say "Find Full Text"
  7. Notice that the paper clips in the far left column for some of references. Single click a reference that has a paper clip.
  8. The PDF will now open on the right side of your EndNote library and you will have the full article permanently embedded.

METHOD 2: Use Firefox and go to the Web of Knowledge
Note: Only Firefox works seamlessly with EndNote and database searching

  1. Go to the library home page: https://apps.carleton.edu/campus/library
  2. Click the "Databases" tab and navigate to the database called "Web of Knowledge"
  3. In the Web of Knowedge, put the following into the search box:
    evolution* and metabolic and prokaryot* (be sure to put in the “ands”)
  4. Click "Search"
  5. Mark the first 5 records of the resulting list
  6. Click the little black triangle to the right of "Save to EndNote Online" and select "Save to EndNote desktop"
  7. In the next screen, select the option that says "Author, Title, Source, Abstract" and click "Send"
  8. Firefox may not know what to do with your file at first, so click the radio button that says "Open With Choose"
  9. Also select the box that says "Do this for files like this from now on"
  10. Click "Choose"
  11. Navigate to Applications > EndNote X8 and select the EndNote X8 application.
  12. Click "Open" and then "OK"
  13. References should now be imported automatically.

EXERCISE V -- WRITING A PAPER AND INSERTING THE REFERENCES

  1. Open Microsoft Word
  2. In a new blank document type the following text:
    Dominance is a form of phenotypic robustness to mutations.
  3. Now go to your EndNote library and click on any reference
  4. Click the icon in EndNote that say Insert Citation
  5. Now continue to type anything you wish
  6. Back in EndNote, hold down the Command key on a Mac or the Control key on Windows and select three different references
  7. Click again on the "Insert Citation" icon
  8. Still in EndNote, click on the "Format Bibliography" icon
  9. Click the "Layout" tab
  10. Where it says "Bibliography Title" type: Literature Cited
  11. Where it says "Space after -- None" click and select "Single"
  12. Click OK

Your paper has been successfully formatted in the appropriate discipline style!

EXERCISE VI -- THE DREATEDED REFERENCES USED BY NOT CITED

You will be asked to “cite” references in your bibliography that you consulted but did not actually use in the creation of your comps project. In reality, this is not done in the scientific literature; but it is what it is. So here is how you get around this.

To have these citations integrated with your regular citations:

  1. In the EndNote Toolbar in Word, click the "Citations" icon
  2. Click "Insert Citation(s)
  3. Search for your citation and highlight it
  4. Click the black arrow on the "Insert" button and select "Insert in Bibliography Only."

If you want these "ghost" citations to remain separate from the rest of your bibliography:

  1. Make sure that this "ghost literature" you are about to cite actually exists in your EndNote library.
  2. When you are absolutely certain that your comps are in the final stage and will not need to be revised again, do the following:
    1. Make a copy of your document and name it clearly so that you know this is the plain text version
    2. In that new copy, click on the "Tools" icon in the EndNote toolbar in Word
    3. Select "Convert to Plain Text" and the click "OK"
  3. Back in EndNote, select your "ghost" citations and then click the "Edit" menu and select "Copy formatted"
  4. Paste your "ghost" citations into your paper

EXERCISE VII -- CREATING A STANDALONE BIBLIOGRAPHY

  1. In your EndNote library, near the bottom right of the screen select the citation style you wish to use.
  2. Highlight the first 5 references in your EndNote library
  3. In the "Edit" menu, select "Copy Formatted"
  4. In Word, paste your citations into your document

EXERCISE VIII -- BIG TIME HINTS LEARNED THE HARD WAY

  1. TIP O THE DAY NEVER but NEVER alter the bibliography in Word once you have used the Cite While You Write feature. If a reference needs to be altered-change the reference in the EndNote library. Then click the Format Bibliography icon in the EndNote Library.
  2. TIP O THE DAY Need to “Name” your bibliography—or add a space between each reference? Click the Format icon.  Now click the “Layout” tab. Click in the box that says Bibliography Title and type LITERATURE CITED. On the bottom right click the “Space After” tab and change it from “None” to “Single.” Now click OK.

EXERCISE IX -- THE DREADED "CHARACTER COUNT" AND HOW TO DO IT!!

You will be required to give a “character count” of your biology comps. There is a very simple way of doing this. Are you ready??? Once your comps are finally written and ALL of the references have been entered; do the following.

  1. Open your document
  2. Then, in EndNote, click on the menu that lists Cell-CC or Amer Naturalist-CC as your citation style, and in that menu click on "Select Another Style"
  3. Choose a footnoted style like "Chicago 17th Notes-Bibliography-CC" or "Chicago 17th A"
  4. Back in your Word Document, use the EndNote Toolbar and click on the "Style" menu to select the citation style that you just set in EndNote.
  5. In the Word toolbar, click "Bibliography" icon and select "Update Citations and Bibliography"
  6. All the in-text citations will disappear from your document BUT THAT'S OK, they're just all in non-existent footnotes now.
  7. Select all the text of your comps and do the Character Count. Finito!!
  8. Now change the style in EndNote and in Word back to "Cell-CC" or "Amer Naturalist-CC"
  9. In the Word toolbar, click "Bibliography" icon and select "Update Citations and Bibliography"
  10. Everything is now back to normal!

Major Sources/Databases that you need to be looking at!

GOOD LUCK ON YOUR COMPS!!!!!!

Librarian

Research/IT Desk's picture
Research/IT Desk

When Carleton librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Contact:
507-222-4264

Questions? Contact reference@carleton.edu

Creative Commons License
Gould Library Research Guides are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License unless otherwise noted.