Skip to main content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

HIST 298: Junior Colloquium

Professor Adeeb Khalid - Fall 2020

Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition) rules

The End Product: Footnote

1. “The Re-Appearance Of Cattle Plague In North Lancashire,” Times (London), December 13, 1866, The Times Digital Archive, http://tinyurl.galegroup.com/tinyurl/6tB8z4.

The End Product: Bibliography

“The Re-Appearance Of Cattle Plague In North Lancashire.” Times (London). December 13, 1866. The Times Digital Archive. http://tinyurl.galegroup.com/tinyurl/6tB8z4.

1. Gather publication info

Screenshot of metadata in Gale database

Author = Use it if it's given. If not, leave blank.

Title of article = The Re-Appearance Of Cattle Plague In North Lancashire

  • NOTE: In this case, the title as given in the database-supplied data is incomplete. You'll need to write in the rest yourself.

Publication title = Times (London)

  • NOTE: Leave in the place of publication, since there are multiple newspapers called The Times. London is a well known city, so it needs no country afterward.

Publication date = December 13, 1866

  • NOTE: Include edition or section information if applicable. This example has neither.
  • NOTE: Page numbers may usually be omitted for newspaper articles.
  • NOTE: Because Gale supplies a tinyurl that is stable, you do not also need to include the name of the database: "To cite an article consulted online, include the URL or, if no suitable URL is available, the name of the database." I have put it here out of an abundance of caution.
  • NOTE: Because this is a stable archive and not a live news site (unlike, say, the Washington Post app), you do not need to include a time stamp from when you accessed the article online.

 

2. Gather Stable URL

Copy the Bookmark URL and paste it into another document

  • Click the Bookmark link in the gray menu bar
  • Copy the tinyurl

Entering in Zotero

Gale newspaper article in Zotero