The Gould Library has rich collections of books, journals, government documents, and other resources. You may access them via Catalyst, the online catalog for Carleton and St. Olaf. You may search Catalyst by title, author, subject, or word.

Reference Sources

Reference works provide background information, useful facts, and beginning bibliographies for your work.

• The Astronomy and astrophysics encyclopedia
  QB14 .A873 1992
• Illustrated dictionary of practical astronomy
  QB14 .K497 2002
• Science Across Cultures
  Ref Q175 .5 .S44 1992
• Popular Physics and Astronomy an Annotated Bibliography
  Ref QC 24.5 .S65 1996
  This is a great place to get started. Lists many areas of physics and where the original literature on these topics can be found.

• Encyclopedia of Creation Myths
  Ref BL 325.C7 L44 1994
• Guide to the Gods
  Ref BL 473. L43 1992
• Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
  Ref GN 333 .W67 1998; 4 vols
• Encyclopedia of World Cultures
  Ref GN 550 .E53 1991; 10 vols

Call Numbers and Subject Headings

Cosmology books are shelved under QB 980 - QB 991 in the Library of Congress classification system.

Library of Congress Subject Headings are the words and phrases that you will use to do a subject search in Catalyst (as opposed to a keyword search, where you may use any words you like). Cosmology and Astronomy are both Library of Congress Subject Headings. If you are looking for books about cosmological traditions, try combining the religious tradition and the word cosmology, e.g. Jewish cosmology or a cosmology and a culture, e.g. cosmology, chinese.