Librarian
LibKey Nomad
Browsing the Library Shelves
One of the best ways to gather information on particular authors and their work is to browse the library shelves. You'll find collected letters, books that the authors wrote, and scholarship about their work all gathered together. And since the call numbers stand for topics, the same call number will work in various parts of the library, such as the main shelves, the reference shelves, and the over-sized book shelves.
- Faulkner PS3511 .A86
- Fitzgerald PS3511 .I9
- Hemmingway PS3515 .E37
Key Reference Sources
Anything that you read functions in two ways: it teaches you more about your topic, and it gives you clues about where to go to find out more about your topic. In addition to Wikipedia, I've listed two reference collections below that are great starting places. Use these and Wikipedia to learn the vocabulary of your topic (names of scholars, alternate phrasings for the topic itself, and phrasings for related topics) and to mine every bibliography you can find for relevant sources. Track down the bibliography items and use the vocabulary of your topic to construct more searches.
Search through hundreds of subject encyclopedias at once.
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative collection of specially commissioned articles written by scholars who are expert in their fields. It addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements and historical events around the world. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's online reference sources from Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and quotations. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Searches the indexes of our library's print reference books. When you find an entry you'd like to read, click the "Locate this book" button or put the title of the reference book into Catalyst to find the book's location in the Reference Collection.
F. Scott Fitzgerald A to Z by Call Number: REF PS3511.I9 Z459ISBN: 0816031509Publication Date: 1997-01-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
William Faulkner A to Z by Call Number: REF PS3511.A86 Z459ISBN: 0816038600Publication Date: 2001-11-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Ernest Hemingway - A Dictionary Volume by Call Number: REF PN451 .D4 v.210ISBN: 0787631043Publication Date: 1999-07-02Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Dictionary of Literary BiographyCall Number: REF PN451 .D4Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Comprehensive reference source on global literature that includes author biographies, critical overviews, bibliographic references, as well as information on literary topics, genres, and periods. Also available online.
Finding Criticism and Primary Sources in the Library
All Formats
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This is one of the most comprehensive databases for literary studies. One great trick is to put the name of a poem, story, book, or author's name into one search box and then select "Subject Heading (All)" from the drop-down box that normally says "All fields." All the resulting articles will then be about that poem, story, book, or author. - Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes the full text of humanities and social sciences articles, 18th century - present. - Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To search through the more popular press kinds of periodicals, try Reader's Guide Retrospective.
Videos and Other Media
- Hemingway, Episode 1: A Writer (1899-1929)First part of the Ken Burns documentary.
- Hemingway, Episode 2: The Avatar, 1929-1944Second part of the Ken Burns documentary.
- Hemingway, Episode 3: The Blank Page, 1944-1961Third part of the Ken Burns documentary.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video collection including documentaries, newsreels, theater, musical performances, and much more from across the disciplines. - AP Images This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Search through the photographs, illustrations, and other images taken or created by the Associated Press since 1826. Search by simple keyword or by complex searches such as concept, color, and category. 1826 - current. - Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and subject indexing)
Includes images from hundreds of sources and thousands of artists, from prehistory to the present, from the Bridgeman Art Library. - DPLA: Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and transcripts)
Aggregates millions of digital items from major libraries and collections across the country, including Carleton College.
