Topical Reference Books
CC Ref D 427 .M47 or ask a Reference librarian.
An amazing way to browse what was happening in the US and the world on a particular date or during a specific month. Includes the 1920's through the 1990's. The oughts aren't out yet. NOTE: they are all near but not right next to each other.
LibKey Nomad
Getting Started with Reference Sources
Sometimes the best way to choose a topic is to start very broadly and explore academic reference sources. These works, usually topical in organization (but sometimes geographical), are written by experts to provide overviews of research areas, summaries of scholarship, and recommended reading. They are a great place to get ideas, to discover influential historical issues you might focus on for your project, and get recommended books as a starting point.
Articles in Sociology Reference Books
Search by keyword and then use the options in the left-hand menu of the result list to the "Collection" to "Carleton College Reference" or to limit the "Material Type" to "Reference Entries" to find reference articles in Carleton's online and print reference books.
For example, try: stratification
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowDozens of reference books online. Search by keyword, browse within books, or use the topic visualizer.
- Reference Universe This link opens in a new windowDiscover articles hidden in all of our print reference books. Search here, discover which book to look in, then head to 4th Libe.
Example Reference Books
The Oxford Companion to United States History by ISBN: 9780195082098Publication Date: 2001 (with updates)Concise articles written by historians on major themes in US history. Accessible and well referenced.
Day by DayCall Number: REF: D427.L4 through D427.R6ISBN: 0871963752Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Encyclopedia of American Social History by Call Number: REF HN57 .E58 1993Availability and more information from Catalyst...
The World Almanac and Book of Facts by Call Number: REF AY67.N5 W7 and OnlineISBN: 9781600572067Publication Date: 2016Availability and more information from Catalyst...
American Immigrant Cultures by Call Number: CC Ref E184.A1 A63448 1997 v.1-2Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present by Call Number: Ref E185 .E5453 2009 and onlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryThis encyclopedia's 2200 articles include biographies of prominent African Americans and essays on historical periods, places, cultural achievements, professions, and sports. An excellent starting point for research, as each essay includes a bibliography.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States by Call Number: CC Ref E184.S75 O97 2005ISBN: 9780195156003Publication Date: 2005Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution by Call Number: CC Ref DS778.7 .G86 2006ISBN: 0810854619Publication Date: 2006Availability and more information from Catalyst...
A great example of a historical dictionary, which lists major events, figures, and resources. Bibliographies are both highly selective and themselves show patterns in scholarship (e.g. topical areas of interest).
Encyclopedia of the Cold War by Call Number: CC Ref D840 .E625 2008ISBN: 9780415975155Publication Date: 2008Availability and more information from Catalyst...- American Incomes by Call Number: CC Ref HC110.I5 A67 and OnlineISBN: 1933588268Publication Date: 2007Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Reference books can be quick places to get statistics, too, especially over time. This book doesn't have the newest numbers, but it helps give the new information historical context.
CQ Researcher
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowA great way to find sources of information on a broad topic. Always includes a timeline (which is helpful for identifying legislation and points of change), full bibliographies, lists of organizations that publish relevant information, and a "pro con" discussion of the issue.
More Reference Works: Gender
One of the largest and richest areas of Carleton's reference collection are books on gender and women's studies. Below are just a few examples.
The Women's Movement Today by Call Number: Reference HQ1115 .W644 2006 v.1-2ISBN: 0313331332Publication Date: 2005-11-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...- A History of Women in the United States by Call Number: Ref HQ1410 .H58 2003ISBN: 071725805XPublication Date: 2003Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Call Number: CC Ref HQ1115 .E52 2001ISBN: 0122272455Publication Date: 2001Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Men and Masculinities by Call Number: CC Ref HQ1090.3 .M436 2004ISBN: 1576077748Publication Date: 2003Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Primary Documents for Context: News, Magazines and More
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new windowLimit to magazines, news articles, and trade literature. Searching by ranges of time is often helpful. Remember that some magazines will be available in print in the library, once you discover the articles here.
- ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new windowEven more newspapers than ProQuest Research Library!
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new windowDiscover articles written in popular publications from 1890 to 1982.
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowA great way to find documentary and ethnographic videos on a broad range of topics interesting to sociologists.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowA mix of scholarly and journalistic full-text content, the titles you find here are written for or by ethnic, minority, and native groups.
