Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Online Reference Sources
- IMDb: Internet Movie Database
This link opens in a new window
- American Film Institute (AFI) CatalogA scholarly listing of American films, with vetted information about the existence, availability, and sources of motion pictures, spanning the entirety of the art form since 1893.
- FilmReference.com
- This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources
- Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An archival collection of magazines related to the history of the film, music, and entertainment industries, 1880 - 2015.
- Los Angeles Times and New York Times via ProQuest Historical NewspapersFull text and page images (including advertisements) of two major American newspapers that covered the entertainment industry.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search popular magazines for articles and interviews. This is an index only - you will have to find the full text in other databases or, more likely, in the library's print collection. - FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Provides citations to articles on film and television, with some full text.
- Black Film Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Black Film Archive is an evolving archive dedicated to making historically and culturally significant films made from 1915 to 1979 about Black people accessible through a streaming guide with cultural context.
