Librarian
Librarian
Access to FDLP Collection at the Library
For current rules on public access to campus, please see Carleton's "Responding to COVID-19- Frequently Asked Questions." If you'd like help with accessing our Government Documents collection, please contact Katie Lewis, Government Documents Librarian.
Gould is an FDLP Library
“This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)”
Gould Library participates in a federal government program to receive a select number of government publications in print. Many more current and historical documents are available online through open access. These are available for ANYONE in the community to access and use.
Major Resources
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The record of Congressional activities, current and past. Includes legislation, hearings, research reports, and more. - U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
One of the core U.S. government publications, with Congressional records from 1817-1994. Also *the* primary source for executive branch reports, treaties, statements, maps and more from the 1800s. - Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Website for Congress. Includes roll call votes, legislation, Congressional Record, and more going back to the early to mid-1990s.
- GovInfo (formerly FDsys)The Government Publishing Office's publication platform for digital copies of documents across all three branches of government.
- HathiTrust : U.S. Federal Documents Collections
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust offers many digital collections of federal government documents, including from the U.S. Civil Rights Commission and the Bureau of Indian Affairs. A very good place to discover the full text of government documents.
- Indian Claims Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Includes historical claims presented to Congress or brought before the Court of Claims. Also includes records of the Indian Claims Commission including briefs, docket books, decisions, expert testimony, oral transcripts, and more.
- National Indian Law Library CatalogFrom the national non-profit Native American Rights fund, publications and other resources relevant to federal Indian and tribal law. From the search box, narrow by "type" options to search tribal codes, constitutions, court cases and more.
Historic Documents
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
One of the core U.S. government publications, with Congressional records from 1817-1994. Also *the* primary source for executive branch reports, treaties, statements, maps and more from the 1800s. - American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through legislative and executive documents, many originating from the important period between 1789 and the beginning of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set in 1817. - House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text) Journals of the House of Representatives and Senate from 1789 to 1817, covering the first fourteen Congresses of the United States. - Senate Executive Journals, 1789-1980 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text) Journals of the executive proceedings of the United States Senate 1789 to 1980, covering the first Congress through the 96th Congress. Covers the confirmation of presidential nominees, the ratification of treaties, the careers of military officers, and more.
