LibKey Nomad
Major Sources
-
U.S. CourtsOfficial directory of U.S.federal courts and their websites.
-
Supreme CourtOfficial website for the Supreme Court.
-
U.S. ReportsCall Number: Gov Docs JU 6.8 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst...
The printed versions are the only official opinions of the Supreme Court.
-
U.S. Courts OpinionsDigital records for select Appellate, District, and Bankruptcy courts.
-
U.S. Code1994 - current
-
U.S. Statutes at Large1951 - current
-
Public & Private (Slip) Laws1995 - current
Supreme Court Reference
These are reference resources about the Supreme Court and major decisions.
-
**History of the Supreme Court of the United States series**
Call Number: KF8742.A45 H55 v. 1-9, 12ISBN: 0521848202The Oliver Wendell Holmes Devise Series
- excellent resource! Available on second Libe. -
The Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions, & Developments byElectronic encyclopedia from CQ Press with lots of charts covering statistics for the court over time.
-
Supreme Court Yearbook
by
A review of the Supreme Court's year. 1989 - current. -
The Supreme Court Review
by
Call Number: KF4546 .S9ISBN: 0226362477Publication Date: 1993-07-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Prominent constitutional law scholars review major decisions, cases, and topics. Carleton library has 1960 to 2014. Excellent resource! Use the footnotes to lead you to articles.
-
Federal Judicial CenterThe research and education arm of the U.S. Courts.
Primary Texts
-
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and InterpretationFull text of the Constitution of the United States. Followed by historical notes and annotations of relevant Supreme Court cases. From the Congressional Research Service. Also available from Cornell and in print reference: CC Ready Ref Y 1.1/3:108-17.
-
The Complete Bill of Rights
by
Call Number: Reference KF4744 1997ISBN: 019510322XPublication Date: 1997-10-16Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Other Sources
-
Free Law ProjectA nonprofit using technology to provide open access to legal resources, like local and federal court opinions.
Supreme Court Opinions - Resources
-
Nexis Uni - LegalSearches modern and historical legal documents, including: Supreme Court, Federal/District, State, and International court cases. As you get more local, expect it to be harder to find detailed information.
-
Supremecourt.govThis is the official website of the Supreme Court. This website contains slip opinions as well as bound volumes (in pdf format). The bound volumes contain not only opinions but also full text from cover to index. Opinions are available from 1991 to the present.
-
U.S. Supreme Court Reports - online1991 to present are available here.
-
U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)This is the Federal Government’s official resource for producing and distributing official information products of the U.S. Government. This website contains decisions from 1937-1975, all of which are in one bulk data file (zip file) and requires download.
-
LII CollectionThe Legal Information Institute (LII) is an online resource from Cornell University Law School. This site contains all Supreme Court decisions from 1990 to the present and the collection is updated as new decisions are received from the court. The collection also contains 631 historic court decisions/the Court's most important decisions from its founding to the present. You can search for cases by case name, topic, or author, as well as look up general information about the Court.
-
Supreme Court DecisionsThis website contains the full text U.S. Supreme Court Decisions issued between 1937 and 1975. Must search by case name or full text.
-
JustiaThis website contains a collection of full text US Supreme Court Opinions from 1759 to the present. Opinions are browsable by year and volume number.
-
FindLaw - OpinionsThis website contains a searchable database of U.S. Supreme Court decisions from 1760 to the present..
-
UNT Digital LibraryThis website contains online copies of the bound volumes of United States Supreme Court Reports. Reports are available from 1991 - 2007.
Below are more print resources/books that contain a collection of opinions from specific Supreme Court justices.
-
Justices of the United States Supreme Court, 1789-1969: Their Lives and Major Opinions byCall Number: KF8744 .F75ISBN: 0835202178Publication Date: 1969-01-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
-
The Unpublished Opinions of the Warren Court
by
Call Number: KF101.8 .S38 1985 and OnlineISBN: 0195035631Publication Date: 1985-09-26Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
The Unpublished Opinions of the Burger Court
by
Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0195053176Publication Date: 1988-07-14 -
Significant Supreme Court opinions of the Honorable Warren E. Burger, chief justice of the United States. byCall Number: KF8745.B85 A25 1984Publication Date: 1984Availability and more information from Catalyst...
-
The unpublished opinions of Mr. Justice Brandeis : the Supreme Court at work
by
Call Number: KF213 .B7 1967Publication Date: 1967Availability and more information from Catalyst...
-
An affair with freedom : a collection of his opinions and speeches drawn from his first decade as a United States Supreme Court Justice [1st edition]. byCall Number: KF213.B73 F7Publication Date: New York : Atheneum 1967Availability and more information from Catalyst...
-
I dissent : great opposing opinions in landmark Supreme Court cases
by
Call Number: KF8742 .I35 2008 (St. Olaf)ISBN: 9780807000366Publication Date: 2008-06-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
-
Oyez ProjectAudio recordings of Supreme Court cases since 1955.
-
Nexis Uni - Briefs, Pleadings & MotionsSelect briefs, pleadings, and motions submitted to the Supreme Court, Federal, and State courts.
