Literature & Language Core Databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current. - LION: Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of British, American, and Canadian literature, poetry, and drama, from the 7th century through the 20th century. Also includes audio versions of Shakespeare's plays. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago.
- MLA vs JSTOR handoutKey advantages and strategies for the two primary databases for literary articles.
Key Reference Sources
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
The definitive dictionary of the English language, including past and present meanings and pronunciations. - Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through in-depth author bibliographies from around the world. - Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative collection of specially commissioned articles written by scholars who are expert in their fields. It addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements and historical events around the world.
