Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
Search Catalyst
All Formats
LibKey Nomad
New Database!
-
Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks and recipe books, menus, marketing pamphlets, posters, and secondary sources as well as documentaries, interview series, and vintage commercials.
Finding Articles
-
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find article information about all aspects of agricultural research, 1970-current. -
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
One of the best tools for business research, includes scholarly and trade publications, industry profiles, and the like. An ELM Database.
-
Encyclopedia of EarthA volunteer expert-created, expert-reviewed encyclopedia.
-
Agricultural and Food Science"Publishes original research reports on agriculture and food research in relation to primary production in boreal agriculture." -from publisher
-
Anthropology of FoodMultilingual journal focusing on food and social sciences.
-
Food Biophysics"Food Biophysics publishes research on physical and chemical studies of food structure, properties, and functions and their relationship to the molecular structure and properties of food materials." -from publisher
-
Food Biotechnology"Contains peer-reviewed articles and current research on biotechnology in the areas of food production and processing." from publisher
-
Food Engineering"A monthly trade magazine covering food and beverage manufacturing and processing. Covers industry and company news, packaging and processing technology, legislation and regulations, and other news and issues of importance to food and beverage manufacturers." -from publisher
-
Journal of Food and Nutrition Research"Focuses on fundamental and applied research in chemistry, physics, microbiology, nutrition aspects, bioactivity, quality, safety, and technology of foods." -from publisher
-
Journal of Medicinal Food"Provides the latest scientific research on the bioactive substances of functional and medicinal foods, nutraceuticals, herbal substances, and other natural products." -from publisher
-
Plant Foods for Human Nutrition"International journal presenting reports of original research and critical reviews concerned with the improvement and evaluation of the nutritional quality of plant foods for humans" -from publisher
-
Renewable Agriculture and Food Systems"Focuses on the science that underpins economically, environmentally, and socially sustainable approaches to agriculture and food production." - from publisher
Food Guides from Other Libraries
Please Note: Many of the resources listed in these guides might not be available to Carleton students, or are only available when found through the links on the Gould Library website.
-
Local and Regional Food Systems from Cornell University LibraryLots of agricultural resources, many specific to New York State.
-
Food and Nutrition from Bowling Green State UniversityMostly focused on diet and nutrition.
-
Food Science Library Research Guide from the University of Hawaiʻi at MānoaIncludes resources on food composition and tropical agriculture.
Selected Books: Food Reference
-
Food Reference BooksListed here is a selection of reference books on food on the fourth floor of the Libe. The link above lists of all of the food reference books within our collection.
-
The Oxford Encyclopedia of food and drink in America
by
Call Number: CC Ref TX349 .E45 2004 and OnlineISBN: 0195154371Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
Encyclopedia of Biotechnology in Agriculture and Food
by
Call Number: Ref S494.5.B563 E53 2011Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
Dictionary of Food Science and Technology
by
Call Number: Ref TP368.2 .D58 2009Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
by
Call Number: REF GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805685Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
The Cambridge world history of food
Call Number: CC Ref TX353 .C255ISBN: 052140214XAvailability and more information from Catalyst... -
The Oxford Companion to Food
by
Call Number: Ref TX349 .D38 1999 and OnlineAvailability and more information from Catalyst... -
Food History Almanac
by
Call Number: Ref TX353 .C568 2014Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
A Consumer's Dictionary of Food Additives
by
Call Number: Ref TX553.A3 W55 1999Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
Food in the Ancient World from A to Z
by
Call Number: Ref GT2853.G8 D35 2003Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
Larousse Encyclopedia of Wine
by
Call Number: Ref TP548 .L345 1994Availability and more information from Catalyst... -
The Oxford Companion to Wine
by
Call Number: Ref TP548 .O76 1994Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Historical Cooking
-
Popes, Peasants, and Shepherds
by
Call Number: E-bookISBN: 9780520955394Publication Date: 2013-03-26 -
Food
by
Call Number: TX353 .H525 1999ISBN: 0231111541Publication Date: 1999-11-23Availability and more information from Catalyst...
a culinary history from antiquity to the present -
-
-
The Medieval Kitchen
by
Call Number: TX719 .R3755 1998ISBN: 9780226706856Publication Date: 2000-04-15Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Food Related Government Resources
-
USDA Food AtlasMapping determinants of diet and nutrition in the U.S.
-
USDA - Community Supported AgricultureLinks to directories of CSA farms. Publications on the history of community-supported agriculture. Resources for more information.
-
National Agricultural LibraryA collection of agricultural resources from the USDA.
-
USDA Data and StatisticsA portal to USDA data, includes the Economics Research Service, the National Agricultural Statistics Service, and the Foreign Agricultural Service
-
NOAA Fisheries: Office of Science & TechnologyStatistics and publications on shrimp fisheries from the National Marine Fisheries Service of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).
-
USDA-NAL-Alternative Farming Systems Information Center"Specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide."
-
UN Food Accountability OrganizationThe website of the UN Food Accountability Organization, includes statistics and other publications.
Other Relevant Government Statistics and Resources
-
Minnesota Department of AgriculturePublications and regulations.
-
U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic Research ServiceDetailed summaries on production, market structure, pricing, and more, and links to more information for U.S. crops, meat, and fish products.
-
USDA: National Agricultural Statistics ServiceFind statistics by county, state, and for the country by crop and for other statistics like pesticide use.
-
Historical Statistics of the United StatesThe government collects information about livestock, sales, and related information. Look here, also, for immigration information.
-
House Committee on AgricultureLegislation and policy regarding U.S. agriculture
-
Search federal government sitesReplace the asterisk in this Google search with your search terms.
-
USDA Food AtlasMapping determinants of diet and nutrition in the U.S.
-
data.census.gov This link opens in a new windowStatistical population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the United States Census.
This subject research guide was created by the 2015-2016 Reference Interns: Carrie Hanson '16, Jonah Hudson-Erdman '18, Jenny Nguyen '17, and Matt Thibodeau '18.
