Finding scholarship
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of important scholarly journal literature from many fields. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. They have a large collection of scholarship about Digital Humanities. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Strong collections in textual analysis and digital media studies. Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search all the EBSCO databases available at Carleton.
Also try these subject headings in Catalyst:
- Digital humanities
- Digital humanities -- Research -- Methodology
- Humanities +
- Electronic information resources
- Computer network resources
- Digital libraries
- Research -- Data processing
- Methodology
- Art and technology
- Big data
- Computers and civilization
- Computer art
- Digital media
- New media art
- Technological innovations
Scholarly Publications
Debates in the Digital Humanities (2012 - present) by A series of open access, peer-reviewed edited volumes. With biannual volumes that highlight current issues in the field, and special volumes on topics of pressing interest, Debates in the Digital Humanities tracks the field as it continues to grow. Some volumes also available in print.
Digital Scholarship in the Humanities (1996 - present) by Formerly Literary & Linguistic Computing. Peer-reviewed journal dealing with Information Technology and Applied Computing.
DHQ: Digital Humanities Quarterly (2007-present) by ISBN: 1938-4122An open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities. Published by the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO), DHQ contains: Scholarly articles; Editorials and provocative opinion pieces; Experiments in interactive media; Reviews of books, web sites, new media art installations, digital humanities systems and tools.
Digital studies / Champ numérique (1996 - present) by This open access peer-reviewed journal focus on the intersection of technology and humanities research. Articles on the application of technology to cultural, historical, and social problems, on the societal and institutional context of such applications, and the history and development of the field of Digital Humanities. Submissions focussing on issues of the practice of the Digital Humanities in a global, multi-cultural, or multi-lingual context are particularly encouraged.- Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy (1996 - present) by Kairos is a peer-reviewed open-access online journal exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy. It includes scholarly articles and reviews of digital projects.
Humanist studies & the digital age (2011 - present) by This peer-reviewed open access journal is devoted to the reformulation of received philological and philosophical ideas of writing and reading literary works, motivated by the advent of electronic texts.
Frontiers in digital humanities (2014 - present) by Open access journal that contains rigorously peer-reviewed research from Digital History to Big Data, providing a community platform for the Humanities in the digital age.
Includes 8 sub-section: Cultural Heritage Digitization, Digital Archaeology, Digital Architecture, Digital History, Digital Learning Innovations, Digital Literary Studies, Digital Musicology, Digital Paleography and Book History.
Journal of data mining and digital humanities (2014 - present) by An open-access peer-reviewed journal. Data Mining & Digital Humanities publishes original research and review papers specifically about Digital Humanities Data: cultural, literary, philosophical, economical, psychological, sociological, opinion, ethnological, demographical, geographical, historical, musicological, cinematographical, archeological, architectural, law, theological, educational, etc.- Journal of digital humanities (2011-2014) byA comprehensive, peer-reviewed, open access journal that features scholarship, tools, and conversations produced, identified, and tracked by members of the digital humanities community.
Peer review of digital projects
- Reviews in Digital Humanities (2020 - present)
A peer-reviewed journal and project registry that facilitates scholarly evaluation and dissemination of digital humanities work and its outputs. - Programming Historian
Peer-reviewed journal of novice-friendly tutorials that help humanists learn a wide range of digital tools, techniques, and workflows to facilitate research and teaching.
- DHQ: Digital Humanities Quarterly (2007-present) by ISBN: 1938-4122An open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covering all aspects of digital media in the humanities. Published by the Association for Computers and the Humanities (ACH) and the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO), DHQ contains: Scholarly articles; Editorials and provocative opinion pieces; Experiments in interactive media; Reviews of books, web sites, new media art installations, digital humanities systems and tools.
Journal of open humanities data (2015 - present)ISBN: 2059-481XFeatures peer reviewed publications describing humanities data or techniques with high potential for reuse.
- Kairos: all reviews (1996 - present)
Kairos is a peer-reviewed open-access online journal exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy. It includes scholarly articles and reviews of digital projects. - Journal of American History: Digital History Reviews (1914 - present)The Journal of American History (JAH) publishes articles, interchanges, states-of-the-field, and the Organization of American Historians' yearly presidential address as well as reviews of books, digital history projects, exhibits, and movies. The section "Digital History Reviews" (also called "Web Site Reviews") began in 2001, and runs about 2-5 reviews every quarter.
- Public Historian: Digital Review section (1978 - present)Search for the section "Digital Review" to find relevant content; reviews go back to approximately 2016. Published by the Department of History, University of California.
- #DLFteach Toolkit: Lesson Plans for Digital Library Instruction
Peer-reviewed collection of lesson plans and concrete instructional strategies for digital library instruction. - Digital Humanities Awards: Highlighting Resources in Digital Humanities
Digital Humanities Awards are a set of annual awards where the public is able to nominate resources for the recognition of talent and expertise in the digital humanities community. The resources are nominated and voted for entirely by the public.
Disciplinary conversations
Look for special issues of disciplinary journals focusing on issues of digital scholarship or the digital humanities.
- South Asian Review, Special Issue: South Asian Digital Humanities, Then and NowVolume 40, Issue 3, 2019. The fields of South Asian and postcolonial studies have also seen the emergence of digital humanities that have expanded the fields and offered important new avenues for critical exploration. This special issue brings together several scholars who work at the intersections of digital humanities, postcolonial, and South Asian studies.
- American Quarterly, Special Issue: Toward a Critically Engaged Digital Practice: American Studies and the Digital HumanitiesVolume 70, Number 3, September 2018. Edited by Lauren Tilton, Amy Earhart, Matt Delmont, Susan Garfinkel, Jesse P. Karlsberg, and Angel David Nieves
- CEA Critic, Special Issue: Digital Humanities PedagogyVolume 76, Number 2, July 2014. The essays in this special issue journal of the College English Association offer you practical tips for classroom practice as well as meditations on the limits of what digital humanities (DH)—and textual criticism—can achieve.
- MLA: Digital Pedagogy in the Humanities: Concepts, Models, and ExperimentsA curated collection of reusable and remixable pedagogical artifacts for humanities scholars in development by the Modern Language Association (MLA).
- MLA: Guidelines for Evaluating Work in Digital Humanities and Digital MediaThe following guidelines are designed to help departments and faculty members implement effective evaluation procedures for hiring, reappointment, tenure, and promotion. They apply to scholars working with digital media as their subject matter and to those who use digital methods or whose work takes digital form.
- AHA: Guidelines for the Professional Evaluation of Digital Scholarship by HistoriansThese guidelines examine not only “work that can be seen as analogous to print scholarship that is reviewable by peers (i.e. journal articles and books), but also to address the myriad uses of digital technology for research, teaching, pedagogy, and even some that might be described as service.”
Reductive Reading by Call Number: PR65.D57 A45 2018ISBN: 9781421425627Publication Date: 2018-06-01More information in Catalyst...
How practices from the digital analysis of texts both simplify and enhance traditional literary criticism. What is to be gained by reading George Eliot's Middlemarch from an Excel spreadsheet, or the novels of Charles Dickens through a few hundred dialogue tags--those he said/she saids that bring his characters to life? Sarah Danielle Allison's Reductive Reading argues that the greatest gift the computational analysis of texts has given to traditional criticism is not computational at all.
Relevant textbook collections
- MIT Press Direct This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Ebooks with key subject areas covered in the complete collection include art and architecture, biomedical sciences, business and finance, computer science, cognitive science, design, education, environment, game studies, humanities, information science, linguistics, neuroscience, new media, philosophy, and social sciences. Contains open access Direct to Open books and journals. - O'Reilly for Higher Education This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics range from programming to IT networking to project management to graphic design to business strategy. The content includes code snippets, certification preparation materials, practice exercises, training videos, all through books, videos, proven learning paths, case studies and audio books.
- Open Textbook Library (University of Minnesota)
- This link opens in a new window
Open textbooks are licensed by authors and publishers to be freely used and adapted. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost. Over 800 textbooks and other OERs available.
- Introduction to Python for Digital Humanities byPublication Date: 2022A primer to Python for humanists (or, more generally, those without coding experience or a background in computer science). Also provides the reader with a basic understanding of Python and how to use it, and how to apply it specifically to humanities-based problems
