Research Guides: Public Opinion Data: National

LibKey Nomad

Pew Research Center: Politics and Policy
Datasets from 1997-current.
Polling Report
Summary-level highlights from recent national polls, including some historical comparative data. Select data from featured data or search.

Kaiser Health Poll Search
Archives more than 50,000 questions on health issues, in partnership between Kaiser and Roper.
Odum Archive Public Opinion Data
This archive includes the Harris Polls from 1958, Southern Regional Public Opinion, and USA Today polls.

ICPSR Variables Database
Search by question across more than 2600 studies in the ICPSR archive. This database covers nearly 2 million variables.

General Social Survey (GSS): NORC Project
Long running survey of social, cultural, and political indicators. Download the dataset or analyze it online.

Roper Center Dataset Search
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find public opinion survey datasets available for download and analysis. If you would rather search by individual question, see iPoll instead. Covers 1942 - current.
NOTE: You will need to register with your Carleton email address to begin fully using this database.

Public Opinion Datasets at ICPSR
Public opinion survey data archived at ICPSR. Carleton students can access these datasets for analysis with statistical software. NOTE: you will need to create your own account using your Carleton email (but not your Carleton password).
Odum Archive Public Opinion Data
This archive includes the Harris Polls from 1958, Southern Regional Public Opinion, and USA Today polls.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Long-running series of survey data on voting, public opinion, and political participation. 1960 - 2012.
Cooperative Congressional Election Study, 2005+
National stratified sample survey at the congressional district level. Topics include registration and voting, political knowledge, ideology, and policy preferences related to key issues on which Congress has taken roll call votes in the preceding two legislative sessions.
Harvard Dataverse
An open repository hosted at Harvard in which authors can deposit their replication datasets. Includes datasets from important journals and research projects, such as American Journal of Political Science and survey organizations like Gallup.
Understanding America Study
The Understanding America Study (UAS) is a panel of households at the University of Southern California (USC) of approximately 14,700 respondents, growing to 20,000 by end of 2025 representing the entire United States.