Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive collection of scholarship that focuses on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture. Contains scholarly articles, reference works, primary sources, timelines, biographies, images, maps, charts and tables, and film clips, among many other things.
Black Women in America: A Historical Encyclopedia by Darlene Clark Hine, editor in chief
Call Number: Ref E185.86 .B542 2005 (3 vols.)
Availability and more information from Catalyst...
This revised second edition includes biographical and topical entries dealing with African African Women. Many entries include extensive bibliographies.
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is a key starting place for research in several different fields, providing bibliographies on current scholarship on topics from the social sciences and humanities.
Sam Pollard (Director), Sam Pollard (Producer), Twin Cities Public Television (TPT) Studios (Producer), (2012). Slavery by Another Name. Arlington, VA: Public Broadcasting Service. [Streaming Video]. Retrieved from video.alexanderstreet.com/watch/slavery-by-another-name database
Everyone should fill out a copy of this form. You can email the results (i.e. the searches you do today) to yourself at the end. Make sure you're logged in with your carleton.edu email address.
-- Whole class results