Journals
- Tribal college journalSome content also available for free online
- Other journals, newspapers, and newsletters from and about Indigenous Communities in America"Native American" OR "American Indian" OR Indigenous; Material type = Journal
- Browzine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
An online tool that allows you to browse, read, and stay current with scholarly journals. Also available as an app for iOS, Android, and Kindle Fire devices.
How to place an ILL request
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
LibKey Nomad
Catalyst & Scholarly Databases
To find books in Catalyst, you may need to use some problematic search terms/subject headings. YOU DO NOT NEED TO REPLICATE THIS LANGUAGE IN YOUR WRITING!
- Indians, Treatment of -- United States -- History
- Indians of North America -- Government relations -- To 1789
- Indians of North America -- Government relations -- 1789-1869
- Indians of North America -- Education
- Indians of North America -- Education + any field = biography
- Navajo Indians -- Education
- Discrimination in education
- Off-reservation boarding schools
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - ProQuest Education Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
An index of top publications in Educational Studies, including some full text. Covers 1988-current. - ERIC: Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The key database for educational-related literature. You may also search ERIC through the free U.S. Department of Education website. 1907 - current. An ELM Database.
Reference Sources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides full access to hundreds of subject encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical information, images, bibliographies, and links to journal articles, books, and online sources. - Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search across all of Carleton's online reference sources from Oxford University Press, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, maps, timelines, and quotations. - Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
An authoritative full text collection of the history of scholarship in several different academic subjects. Includes over 260 volumes published since 1960 by Cambridge University Press.
The Cambridge History of Native American Literature by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781108699419Publication Date: 2020Contains four sections: "Traces & Removals" (pre-1870s); "Assimilation and Modernity" (1879-1967); "Native American Renaissance" (post-1960s); and "Visions & Revisions" (21st century). Includes info on how Native literatures have evolved alongside major transitions in federal policy, and via contact with broader cultural phenomena, such as the American Civil Rights movement.
Native America: A State-by-State Historical Encyclopedia by Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780313381270Publication Date: 2012-03-09Includes a state by state timeline of events, notable people, and bibliography.
Language Policy and Political Issues in Education by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783319023434Publication Date: 2017-09-14
