Skip to main content

Gould Library staff continue our commitment to support the teaching and research needs of the Carleton community. Information on remote access to library resources and services will be updated regularly on the Remote Resources and Guidance for Library Users page and this FAQ. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you need additional assistance.

HIST 203: American Indian Education

Prof. Meredith McCoy - Spring 2020

Chicago: Citing Rare Books

These are some hints and general examples. Citing rare books and special collection material is an art and not a science -- if you're not sure, ask for help and err on the side of including more rather than less information.

Rare Book (original)

Footnotes

1. Jane Austen, Emma: a Novel (London: Printed for John Murray, 1816), 15, The Bob and Carolyn Nelson First Edition Collection, Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

2. Pliny, Historia mundi naturalis C. Plinii Secundi: hoc est amplissimum, lucidissimum, perspicacissimumque, nec non plane mirandum totius vniuersi, rerumque naturalium speculum [...] (Frankfurt, 1582), 148, Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

 

Bibliography

Austen, Jane. Emma: a Novel. London: Printed for John Murray, 1816. The Bob and Carolyn Nelson First Edition Collection. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

Pliny. Historia mundi naturalis C. Plinii Secundi: hoc est amplissimum, lucidissimum, perspicacissimumque, nec non plane mirandum totius vniuersi, rerumque naturalium speculum [...]. Frankfurt, 1582. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN.

 

 

Rare Book (facsimile)

Footnote

2. The Hours of Catherine of Cleves, facsimile with introduction and commentaries by John Plummer (Utrecht, Netherlands, ca. 1440; fac. New York: G. Braziller, 1966), 26. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN. Citations refer to the 1966 edition.

**Note that you may choose to cite either the original page numbers or the facsimile page numbers -- just be clear which one it is!

 

Bibliography

The Hours of Catherine of Cleves. Utrecht, Netherlands, ca. 1440. Facsimile with introduction and commentaries by John Plummer. New York: G. Braziller, 1966. Gould Library Special Collections & Archives, Carleton College, Northfield, MN. 

 

Related rules