LibKey Nomad
Catalyst & Specialized Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts)
COVID-19: How to access physical books remotely?
Follow these steps, in order, to get access to books that are in the physical building. Still stumped? Let me know -- I can help!
Step 1: Check in Catalyst for an ebook
Our holdings are always changing; check to see if a digital copy of the item shows up.
- Catalyst This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Search the collections of Carleton and St. Olaf College libraries.
Step 2: Check databases
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
CLICK THE BIG YELLOW BUTTON TO LOG IN BEFORE SEARCHING
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and digitally accessible. A major source of digitized books and other documents. Some of the collection if available for free to all, and additional content is available to Carleton faculty, staff, and students.
- Internet archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive is a non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access to current and historical web content.
- EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Full text electronic books on scholarly and popular topics, readable online or downloadable to your mobile device. - Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A massive collection of out-of-copyright books, transcribed and downloadable in multiple formats. Free for anyone to use.
- Google Book SearchSearches the full text of many books, including poetry.
Step 3: Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for a specific chapter (NOT A WHOLE BOOK)
Use book reviews to help narrow your request! Please note: Requests may be delayed due to COVID-19.
- InterLibrary Loan (ILL)InterLibrary Loan (ILL) is a service that allows Carleton students, staff, and faculty to request items that Carleton and St. Olaf do not own from other libraries. NOTE: Items can take from 2 days to 2 weeks to arrive.
