R&I Librarian for Humanities and Digital Scholarship
LibKey Nomad
Books for your class
First peoples : a documentary survey of American Indian history (5th ed, 2016) by Call Number: E77 .C14 2016ISBN: 9781457696244Publication Date: 2016More information in the Catalyst record
The 2019 edition, used in your class, is available to buy or rent but is currently not available through the Library.
Weaving Native perspectives throughout the narrative, First Peoples provides a survey of American Indian history complete with an assortment of original source documents to give you a first-hand experience with history.
Say We Are Nations: Documents of Politics and Protest in Indigenous America since 1887 by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781469624815Publication Date: 2015More information in the Catalyst record
More than fifty documents gathered here are organized chronologically and thematically.
Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781315528847Publication Date: 2016More information in the Catalyst record
Written by a group of highly respected Indigenous Studies scholars from across an array of disciplines, Sources and Methods in Indigenous Studies is a synthesis of changes and innovations in methodologies in Indigenous Studies, focusing on sources over a broad chronological and geographical range. Part I examines ways that Indigenous Studies has forged its own intellectual path by borrowing and innovating from other fields. Part II examines the many different areas with which sources for indigenous history have been engaged, including: the importance of family, gender, feminism, and sexuality, as well as various elements of expressive culture such as material culture, literature, and museums.
Course website & Citation examples
Need an example of how to format a caption and bibliography entry for an image?
Write out caption text relating this image to the argument you're making on your website. Image source: Lmaotru, Elizabeth 'Betsy' Brown Stephens, 2010; original photograph taken in 1903. Accessed via https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Stephens.jpg. Public domain.
- Generally, italicize titles.
- This photo was originally taken in 1903 and digitized in 2010; if you have a modern image, leave off the second date part.
- "Public Domain" is the equivalent of the license. You might have a Creative Commons license that looks like: CC BY 4.0, or CC BY-NC-ND 2.0, or similar. Include it after the link to the original image.
EXAMPLE CAPTION 2: Portrait of Dr. Charles A. Eastman, 2020, https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dr_Charles_A_Eastman.jpg. Public domain. Originally published in The American Indian Magazine 6, no. 4 (1919): cover art, http://archive.org/details/DKC0238.
- This image has no known photographer/creator
- This image was originally printed in a physical journal, and then it was scanned and uploaded into Wikimedia Commons
EXAMPLE CAPTION 3: Bain News Service, Mrs. Marie L. Baldwin, 1914, George Grantham Bain Collection, Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C. Accessed via https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mrs._Marie_L._Baldwin_(LOC)_2.jpg. Public domain.
- This photo was originally in a Library of Congress archive, and contains all that information in the citation
- The citation also has the link to Wikimedia Commons, since that contains the copyright/Public Domain information, which will help to make Prof. McCoy life's easier!
Bibliography
EXAMPLE #1: Lmaotru. Elizabeth 'Betsy' Brown Stephens. 2010; original photograph taken in 1903. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Stephens.jpg.
EXAMPLE #2: Portrait of Dr. Charles A. Eastman. 2020. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dr_Charles_A_Eastman.jpg. Originally published in The American Indian Magazine 6, no. 4 (1919). http://archive.org/details/DKC0238.
EXAMPLE #3: Bain News Service. Mrs. Marie L. Baldwin. 1914. George Grantham Bain Collection. Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, Washington, D.C. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mrs._Marie_L._Baldwin_(LOC)_2.jpg.
**What changed?
- Commas became periods
- (if your author had a First Last name, you would invert them to be Last, First: Flanagan, Peggy)
- No license information needed in the bibliography
- **Note that these examples are not in alphabetical order, but in your bibliography they generally should be
