Librarian
Sean Leahy
Contact:
4th Libe - Room 465
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
507-222-5179
smleahy@carleton.edu
Subjects: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Computer Science, Economics, Education, Environmental Studies, Geology, International Relations, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physical Education, Athletics, and Recreation (PEAR), Physics, Political Economy, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Sociology/Anthropology, Statistics, Theater & Dance
Coronavirus and Global Security - Think Tanks, NGOs, and IGOs
Below are links to a few institutions and organizations that are studying the effects of Covid-19 on global security
- COVID-19: Potential Implications for International Security EnvironmentExtensive report from Congressional Research Services. Of particular interest will be the long list of readings in Appendix B.
- The Asian-Pacific Center for Security StudiesThe Asian-Pacific Center for Security Studies contains news, updates, and insights from the region about the pandemic.
- Center for Strategic International StudiesNews and analysis on Covid-19
- Covid-19: Insights from RandRand's analysis on National Security and International Affairs during the pandemic
- International Institute for Strategic StudiesRecent analysis on Covid-19 from IISS
- Think Tank Search Engine - Harvard Kennedy SchoolUsing a specialized Google search engine, directly search the web sites of hundreds of think tanks.
- Peace, Conflict, and Covid-19 (CFR)Long reading list of articles addresses national security and conflict issues associated with Covid-19.
- Coronavirus Portal for European Council of Foreign RelationsECFR’s experts explore issues ranging from governmental credibility and legitimacy to the importance of multilateralism, analysing the repercussions of the virus on the global stage.
News and Current Affairs
- New York Times (NYTimes.com) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access to current New York Times. Subscription access provided through a partnership with the Carleton Student Association. First-time users will need to make an account with their Carleton credentials; faculty & staff accounts need to be every few years. - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Basic company information for over 20 million North American and 70 million global companies (directory information from Hoovers and Dun and Bradstreet) as well as industry profiles. Also includes WhitePages data allowing for people and business search including reverse phone lookup. The Global Corporate Family Tree feature places companies into their full ownership context. Customized reports and lists can be downloaded to Excel, Word and PDF formats.
- Economist in ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest indexes the Economist from 1992 to the current issue. Use one of the search boxes to limit your search to the Economist (type economist and set the drop-down to Publication Type). View a sample search.
- Foreign AffairsA "leading forum for serious discussion of American foreign policy and global affairs." Available in print (3rd floor Periodicals) and online.
Scholarship
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present. - PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present. - Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Find reports on public policy topics from major think tanks, research organizations, and advocacy groups including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. Covers 1990-current.
