General Reference Works
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Call Number: Ref D114.E53 2000 and OnlineISBN: 1579582826Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An excellent summary of recent scholarship in Medieval Studies;special emphasis placed on medieval Christendom, philosophy, theology, spirituality, and iconography.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Call Number: [online]ISBN: 9780198662624Publication Date: 2010-07-29Covers all key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era
The New Cambridge Medieval History by Call Number: Ref D117 .N48 1995 and OnlineISBN: 0521362911Publication Date: 2005-12-08Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Offers a narrative of political developments in distinct regions of medieval Europe, as well as discussions of common themes within these regions.
Late Antiquity: A Guide to the Postclassical World by Call Number: Ref DE5 .L29 1999ISBN: 0674511735Publication Date: 1999-11-18An encyclopedia of the politics, warfare, religions, and social and intellectual life in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from 250-800 CE; also includes eleven thought-provoking introductory thematic essays on Late Antiquity.- Dictionary of the Middle Ages byCall Number: Ref D114.D5 1982, Oversize D114 .D5 1982ISBN: 0684190737Publication Date: 1989-04-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Contrary to its name, this work is actually a 12 volume encyclopedia covering the Western and Eastern Europe, Asia Minor, and Muslim-Christian North Africa from 500-1500 C.E. Although somewhat dated, it can still be useful. 
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 by Call Number: Ref HN373 .E63 2001 v.1 - 6Availability and more information from Catalyst...
An outstanding source of historiographical essays and factual articles on European social history; most longer essays have excellent bibliographies. v. 1. Methods and theoretical approaches -- The periods of social history -- Regions, nations, and peoples -- Europe and the world -- v. 2. Processes of social change -- Population and geography -- Cities and urbanization -- Rural life -- State and society -- v. 3. Social structure -- Social protest -- Deviance, crime, and social control -- Social problems and social reform -- v. 4. Gender -- The family and age groups -- Sexuality -- Body and mind -- Work -- v. 5. Culture and popular culture -- Modern recreation and leisure -- Religion -- Education and literacy -- Everyday life -- v. 6. Biographies
Bibliographical Reference Sources
Though somewhat dated, these books provide citations to primary and secondary sources in Medieval Studies. Many of the sources, however, are not in English.
- Bibliography of English translations from Medieval Sources byCall Number: CC Books PN671 .F3Publication Date: 1946Availability and more information from Catalyst...
- Bibliography of English Translations from Medieval Sources, 1943-1968 byCall Number: Ref PN671 .F47ISBN: 0231034350Publication Date: 1974-08-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Medieval Studies: A Bibliographical Guide by Call Number: Ref CB351 .C76ISBN: 0824091078Publication Date: 1985-01-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...- A Guide to the Sources of Medieval History byCall Number: Ref D117 .C2213ISBN: 0720407435Publication Date: 1978-01-01Availability and more information from Catalyst...
