Catalyst & Databases
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An extensive bibliography of literature about the European Middle Ages. Covers publications from 1967 - current. - Iter Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citation information)
Scholarly journal articles, essays, and books on the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Covers 1842 - present (coverage varies by publication type). - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present.
Use what you have to find more
Every source contains rich clues to other useful sources. It's a treasure map that can lead you to sources you would never find by pure searching. Think of it is giving clues along two axes:
-
Foward and backward in time by mining the source's bibliography and by seeing who has cited the source (ask at the Research/IT Desk for help).
-
Side to side across the scholarly conversation by collecting key terms, phrases, and names used in the useful source to find other sources that are similar, and by analyzing how participants in the conversation on this topic use evidence, and what kinds of evidence they use.
