LibKey Nomad
Looking for Articles
Search these online databases and journals for articles about your topic.
Usually, it's helpful to start a search experimenting with lots of different keywords about your topic. Then, narrow your search once you have learned the distinct, precise subject headings each database uses.
Databases & Indexes -- Women's and Gender Studies
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender from the 16th through the 20th centuries.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Full text database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, find historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. Covers 1970-current. - LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s through to recent years. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Covers women's studies literature and feminist research, including political science, humanities, sociology, history, business and education. Covers 1972 - current.
- Women's Studies Index (1989 to 2002)Call Number: REF HQ 1180 .W683Availability and more information from Catalyst...
Indexes 82 periodicals, comprehensive indexing of scholarly titles.
Databases & Indexes -- Political Science
- PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Includes information about articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about international public affairs. Covers publications from 1914 - present. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
This is the core disciplinary index to political science journal articles. Broad coverage of political science along with complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. Covers 1975 - present.
Databases & Indexes -- Multidisciplinary
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Contains scholarly journals, trade publications, and magazines from across the disciplines and from popular culture. Much of the content is available in full text. An ELM Database. - Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An index of scholarly journal articles, primarily in the sciences and social sciences. Covers 1998 - current. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Provides access to more than 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Most journals are included from their first issue until 5 years ago. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Search through the full text of key books and journals from across the disciplines, with emphasis on recent scholarship. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Covers 1973 - current.
Databases & Indexes -- Literature
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches through citations, subject headings, and some abstracts
The premier database for linguistics and literary studies, this index includes articles, dissertations, books, book chapters, and more. Covers 1926 - current.
Databases & Indexes -- History
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
Contains information about scholarly articles on the history and culture of the U. S. and Canada. (For World History, use Historical Abstracts) - Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The primary place to find scholarship on world history. (For U.S. and Canadian History, use America: History and Life). Covers publications from 1955 - present.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
Newspapers
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
An index of alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines from around the world. It focuses on emerging theories and practices of radical social change, socialism, national liberation, labor, Indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Covers 1969 - current. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Search through the full text of newspapers, magazines, and journals published in the U.S by ethnic, minority, and native presses. Covers 1991 - current. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications.
Databases & Indexes -- Sociology, Anthropology, Psychology
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
Main index to research in sociology, anthropology, and related fields in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1963 - current. - PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and abstracts)
The premier search tool for all areas of psychology and related disciplines. Covers 1840 - current.
Note: There are fewer than 115 records from earlier than 1894.
Journals to Browse
These are core journals in women and gender studies. Keep in mind, however, that this list is simply to get you started!
Locate journals using the Gould Library Journal Search.
- Feminist StudiesFeature articles of feminist analysis on a variety of topics. Also has conference announcements and literary works.
- Gender and SocietyPublished by the Sociologist for Women in Society, but covers many social science disciplines. Focus on theory and methodology from both macro and micro perspectives.
- Signs: Journal of Women in Culture and SocietyCore journal in the field of women's studies, emphasizes links between theory and practice. Covers a wide range of disciplinary perspectives.
