Math News
- MAA FocusThe news magazine of the Mathematical Association of America, with news about a wide range of mathematical topics.
Librarian
Research/IT Desk
Contact:
Contact the Reference Librarians online
reference@carleton.edu
reference@carleton.edu
507-222-4264
Subjects: General Reference
LibKey Nomad
Using News Sources
News coverage of a mathematician's story, their research, or a phenomenon related to a mathematical concept can be extraordinarily helpful. Journalistic writing is easy to read quickly and it can highlight influential people and organizations for you to follow up on. Library news databases allow you to search the full text of multiple news sources at once, with full access, usually efficiently than searching Google, where paywalls get in the way.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive current news database, contains hundreds of local, regional, national, and international news sources (including the St. Paul Pioneer Press and Minneapolis Star Tribune). Content from newspapers as well as television and radio broadcast transcripts are included. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations and the full text)
Access to the full text of newspapers (foreign and domestic), as well as business, legal, medical, and reference publications. - ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(Searches through citations, subject indexing, and some full text)
A broad collection of newspaper articles published across the U.S.. Covers 1995 - current for most newspapers. An ELM Database. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A broad, multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary search tool. Use the filters tool to limit to magazines, where you'll find content from major publications. It usually also helps to limit to the past ten years and sort by relevance.
